Counter-Strike: Source on Crossover

Discussion in 'Games' started by theman5725, Sep 15, 2006.

  1. theman5725 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    #1
    I just downloaded Crossover and installed Steam and CS:S. When I play CS:S I simply get a black screen. However, if I move the mouse to where the menu choices would be, you can hear the sound that it makes when you roll the mouse over.

    What should I do?
     
  2. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
  3. smwatson macrumors 6502a

    smwatson

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    Does it work in Bootcamp?

    Also, what version of CS are you running Tominated? 1.6?
     
  4. theman5725 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    #4
    Counter-Strike: Source

    And no, I do not have boot camp installed so I can't test that. It worked on my PC though.
     
  5. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #5
    From what I've heard, Crossover ain't that great yet, and a lot of stuff doesn't work properly or at all. Sorry man.
     
  6. Pr0jkt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Location:
    san fran, ca
    #6
    I play CZ 1.6 all the time no problem via bootcamp!!
     
  7. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    That's because bootcamp isnt crossover.

    Crossover works within Mac OS X and does not require you to have a copy of windows at all.

    it's really good in principal, but in practice as it stands

    Crossover is really bad for games at the moment. I've tried installing over a dozen games so far and not one has actually worked.
     
  8. theman5725 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    #8
    I see. I wanted to try this before I installed Windows with Boot camp but o well. :/
     
  9. trentrez macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    #9
  10. csgecko macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    #10
    Hey there, I know the EXACT problem, I have a MacBook 2.0ghz, 512mb ram, 60gig HD and I installed BootCamp on there not long ago. After installing hl2 and steam etc. All counter-strike source came up with was a black screen :S, but like you said you could hear the menu click. I mananged to create a game by using the console without looking but even then its hardly playable, but the strange thing is HL2 runs perfect....
     
  11. azzurri000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    #11
    I've been having problems with running Counter-Strike Source using Crossover... the same ones as mentioned in the following thread on the software's site:
    http://www.codeweavers.com/beta/cxmac/forum/?t=4;msg=1468

    To summarize, the text was extremely blurry and the graphics didn't look nearly as good as they did on my PC. I hope this problem gets fixed soon! I don't want to have to download Windows.

    Don't know if anyone else had troubles with this, but I had a hard time choosing the proper resolution.
     

Share This Page