Couple New Mac User Questions

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by zflauaus, Aug 5, 2005.

  1. zflauaus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    #1
    First of all, where can I locate the Remote Desktop Program? And how do I make existing admin account non-admin?
     
  2. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #2
    Don't know about remote desktop but the to change the admin account go to System Preferences ->Accounts. Select the account and uncheck the admin box. I think you have to have another admin account first. Also you need unlock it with the lock icon in the bottom left.
     
  3. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #3
    Remote Desktop is a separate program, not bundled with the OS – if you want it, you'll have to buy it. Sorry!
     
  4. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
  5. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #5
    If you install the Remote Desktop Client (free) you can still connect to your computer with VNC. There's a guide on how to do this (with some extra stuff about SSH tunneling that you can ignore) somewhere on this forum. Let me find it real quick.

    EDIT: Ah, here it is.
     

Share This Page