Coverflow not working...says DirectX 9 or later must be installed.

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Poopface Morty, Sep 22, 2007.

  1. macrumors regular

    Poopface Morty

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa
    #1
    Windows XP (SP1) machine, iTunes version 7.4.0.28. I do have Directx9 after running dxdiag and checking the info there, and per the instructions here...

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=304402

    I checked DirectDraw and Direct 3D Acceleration, and both of them are enabled.



    This is the exact message I get when trying to use Coverflow:

    "iTunes is unable to browse album covers on this computer because DirectX 9 or later is not installed."

    Note that it does not only say "iTunes is unable to browse album covers on this computer"...that last bit about DirectX 9 is included as well, but as I said, I have it.
    This is white text on a black screen, not white text on a gray screen.

    Any ideas before I throw my laptop against a wall?
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #2
    If it helps, Coverflow is completely useless to me on a computer.

    It is a huge hassle trying to look through large libraries of music
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Poopface Morty

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa
    #3
    Sorry, it doesn't help. :rolleyes:
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    #4
    cover-flow is so much faster than scrolling through in usual ways. You have to buy a new machine, me thinks

    and for OT, go to microsoft for the newest version of Direct X
     
  5. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #5
    I agree with you there.

    Not faster than clicking in the artist column and typing the first couple of letters of the artist you are looking for though.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    JD92

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    #6
    You might want to install Windows XP SP2? XP SP1 is pretty outdated now.

    SP2 is a free update from Microsoft's website, or from Windows Update. Who knows, it could be the source of your problem, Apple probably expects all their Windows stuff to run on XP SP2 or Vista.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Poopface Morty

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa
    #7
    Is this OK to do (read, "am I going to have tons and tons of problems doing this")? I've heard nothing but horror stories of people updating to SP2, and I thought this has still been the case.

    Thing is, this has worked before on SP1.
     

Share This Page