Coverflow Question

Discussion in 'iPod' started by flying dog, Sep 8, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #1
    I have a few albums with different artists but they have the same album cover and title. In coverflow each individual song is listed, instead of being listed as an album. Is there any way to fix that?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    PupnTaco

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #2
    Make sure you have the "yes" box checked in the "Compilation" option and it'll group them under the same album.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #3
    I've done that with no luck so far. I'll try doing that with more albums and syncing again later after I come back home this evening...
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    marmiteturkey

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Set the 'album artist' to the same value for each song and it'll group them all together under one album.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    #5
    While I have gotten cover flow on iTunes to look right, on my 80gb classic, its not.

    iTunes shows a compilation album just fine, i sync the same album to my classic and its fragmented into 3-4 albums under cover flow by different artists.

    in iTunes, i have compilation box checked, and album artist is the same for the whole album.

    I'm at a loss, been messing with this all day. =/
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    #6
    thanks! That solved my problem. Still i'm going to need about 10 hours of work to get all my covers and make sure everything looks good. At least i have about 20 days until my touch comes.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    #7
    yeah, you can get it to look fine in iTunes.

    But you might be frustrated when you sync your touch when it fragments like my 80gb classic does.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    #8
    I hope not...

    In cover flow do you usually browse by album or artist?
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    #9
    its a bug in the ipod classic and nano, you can have it set up right in itunes, but it will default to artist in cover flow on the ipod.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #10
    I've seen the issue come up in the Apple support forums. The answer there was that it was a bug and that sorting by album instead of artist is what's intended (even for compilations). Their solution was to submit a bug report.

    It'll probably be fixed with a software update since the ipod is behaving differently from itunes.
     

Share This Page