Cow runs across the screen in Final Cut Pro3

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by nsutt22, Jun 27, 2006.

  1. nsutt22 macrumors regular

    nsutt22

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    #1
    Ok... last year i would work countless hours on a senior movie for my high shcool. There was many late nights at school working on the project. On two or three occasions i would wake up my machine and a cow would proceed to run across the screen. I thought it was me tripping cause it was late at night and i was tired but today it happened again during the day! I researched and apparently it is something that happens. Anyone else experience this mad cow?
     
  2. realityisterror macrumors 65816

    realityisterror

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    #2
    You and this guy. Weird I hadn't heard about it until maybe 2 weeks ago, but since then I've heard at least 4 or 5 reports of it.

    But, technically, it seems he (Bruce) is a yak, not a cow. :cool:
     
  3. nsutt22 thread starter macrumors regular

    nsutt22

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    #3
    Ok i cant stand it anymore! I need to know how to call him in final cut pro 3. I have been ctrl clicking the tool menu for hours. Does anyone know where to click to call him in FCP 3? I have also been searching google for hours! Help!
     
  4. keysersoze macrumors 68000

    keysersoze

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    NH
    #4
    Can we get a screenshot?

    Just pure curiosity.
     
  5. Koodauw macrumors 68040

    Koodauw

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Madison
    #5
    Bruce gets scared and runs off when you move the mouse, so I doubt you will see any screen shots, unless someone happens to have their camera near by at the right time.

    However, I would like to see Bruce as well.
     
  6. Electro Funk macrumors 65816

    Electro Funk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    The Opium Garden
    #6
    Here ya go...
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Koodauw macrumors 68040

    Koodauw

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Madison
    #7
    Im a little disappointed, I thought bruce would be bigger.
     
  8. Electro Funk macrumors 65816

    Electro Funk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    The Opium Garden
    #8
    not the first time i have heard that! :D
     
  9. Boggle macrumors 6502

    Boggle

    #9
    Than you have had some very cruel...er, um, friends. :D
     
  10. keysersoze macrumors 68000

    keysersoze

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    NH
    #10
    Thanks for the picture-- this is the first I've heard of Bruce. Never used FCP before.
     
  11. nsutt22 thread starter macrumors regular

    nsutt22

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
  12. nsutt22 thread starter macrumors regular

    nsutt22

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    #12
    I got Bruce to appear. He sure says some funnny stuff. I am going to take some pics later I dont want to scare him away!

    I will also write down some of his corny lines. I mean... excellent lines.
     
  13. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
  14. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #14
    :eek: :confused: :eek:
    A cow named bruce? running across the screen in FCP3? Wow.
    Someone at cupertino was bored!
     
  15. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #15
    And the best thing is - if you run it on a MacBook, you get the sound effects too! ;)

    Funny, it's almost like a throw-back to classic Mac apps such as the Talking Moose.
     
  16. mduser63 macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #16
    I don't know about FCP 5 as I don't (yet) have it, but it does appear in FCP 4 and 4.5/HD. One way to activate it is to open the buttons list (opt-L) then type Bruce in the search box (the capital B is important), then back up and delete the shift character at the beginning of Bruce. A button will appear in the list called "Call The Yak". You can drag the button onto a toolbar, and when you click it, the button will automatically disappear and Bruce will come out on the screen. You have to be careful not to scare him off.
     
  17. nsutt22 thread starter macrumors regular

    nsutt22

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    #17
    I believe it goes all the way back to 1 and 2.
     
  18. Pistol Pete macrumors 6502a

    Pistol Pete

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Location:
    So Cal
    #18
    yah it is still there in 5, I forgot how to do it...

    its a series of text entrys in a box that i forgot the name of... :(
     
  19. realityisterror macrumors 65816

    realityisterror

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    #19
    No, no, no. He's a yak. Huge difference ;)

    Haha! Golden! Took me a minute to get it though. :)
     
  20. xPismo macrumors 6502a

    xPismo

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    California.
    #20
    Actually, i've been told its pre Apple.

    I wonder what Bruce would think of Claris? Mooof!!
     
  21. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #21
    Ok,

    That is seriously F'd up......

    A yak

    runs across the screen

    for no reason...

    I love it.
     
  22. nsutt22 thread starter macrumors regular

    nsutt22

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    #22
    It goes back to Macromedia for sure but the same guys i am sure crossed over when apple bought it. Its a very cool thing... I am going to write down his quotes and shoot a vid of it to post soon. i hope haha.
     
  23. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #23
    Yes, this goes back to 1998 when Macromedia was prepping it for release as Key Grip. The joke amongst the developers was that if they didn't ship it by a certain deadline (can't remember what it was), they'd might as well be herding yaks. I believe that quote could still be found somewhere in a resource file for quite some time...maybe still today.
     
  24. donnyarmstrong macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #24
    The Cow

    Yes, I have been seeing this dude for over 5years. I have Final Cut HD Studio and I just seen this dude again tonight. I've been telling people about him for years and everyone has told me to get to sleep. I'm on the hunt for this dude and I'll post it on my website. Sometimes I would leave the computer, get some zzz's, then get up and there he goes running across my screen. I hit him with the mouse one day trying to stop him and knocked him backwards then a little message balloon came up and he spoke spanish to me. I said forget it and went back to sleep. I want to know why this dude has followed me from Final Cut the first addition to a whole different computer, software, and year. I want to know where is this dude hidding and who created him (his momma or poppa)? I think he's distroying something but I haven't figured it out yet because he's always eating when I catch him. What the hell is he eating and why is he scared?
     
  25. PillarFan1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    #25
    http://www.eeggs.com/items/44354.html

    This egg may work with older versions of Final Cut Pro, but I have only confirmed its presence in FCP 4.5
    The egg will present itself if FCP is left alone for several days. There is a way to call upon Bruce, however.
    In FCP, press [Option-J]
    In the search field in the opened window, type "Bruce".
    The search box will have "[shift icon]Bruce". Use the left arrow key to move the cursor left and delete the shift icon. Do not press [Return].
    In the main field of the window, a button option will have appeared entitled "Call Bruce". Drag this button option into any window to add it to the customizable toolbars.
    Press the button.
    Supposedly, Bruce was a Yak added to Final Cut Pro as the FCP equivalent of the Mac OS's Clarus [the famous Dogcow]. Enjoy.
     

Share This Page