CPU clock speed widget

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by JDN, Sep 17, 2006.

  1. JDN macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Lund Sweden {London England}
    #1
    I have a 2Ghz 512Mb RAM 15" MBP (another 512Mb RAM in the post) and i saw that you can get a widget to over clock the CPU.

    http://www.apple.com/downloads/dashboard/status/turbo.html

    What are the Pros and Cons of this kind of widget? I mean, i assume that setting the CPU to the highest setting all the time will cause more heat, but will the heat become dangerous?

    Second question, while i remember: i have the iStat pro widget, and it never gives me a temp reading, is there any particular reason for this?
     
  2. rtdgoldfish macrumors 6502a

    rtdgoldfish

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #2
    After I installed CoreDuo Temp, iStat Pro started showing the temp of my CPU.
     
  3. JDN thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Lund Sweden {London England}
    #3
    Wiked thank you! So at what temperatures should i start getting worried??

    [Edit] Where on that page do i download it from?[/Edit]
     
  4. rtdgoldfish macrumors 6502a

    rtdgoldfish

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #4
    I've got a black MacBook with the 2.0gHz chip and my temp is usually around 125-130 degrees fahrenheit when I'm just using iTunes, Safari and iChat. Goes up to around 150 if I open Photoshop or something a bit more processor intensive. I'm guessing if you get to around 175 or so, you might want to be worried but I really have no idea.
     
  5. JDN thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Lund Sweden {London England}
    #5
    Found it and downloaded it. However i have noticed another glitch.

    In the iStat pro options bit, it says no temp sensors and no fans are found?!?

    Yet Core Duo Temp works fine in the task bar, and if i put my ear to the case, i can hear the fan, hehe.
     
  6. rtdgoldfish macrumors 6502a

    rtdgoldfish

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #6
    Yeah, the fans don't work in my iStat pro either. You might have to restart your computer to get the temp to show up.
     
  7. Xander562 macrumors 68000

    Xander562

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #7
    your computer automatically shuts itself off if the temps get high enough to cause damage. i think it's ~125 C?

    personally, i dont know why you'd want to have your CPU running full speed all the time :confused:
     
  8. JDN thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Lund Sweden {London England}
    #8
    Neither do i, i just thought it might be a fun toy. But i dont want to do anything risky.
     
  9. Axemantitan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #9
    The item in the OP is no longer available. Is there another application which monitors your CPU clock?
     
  10. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    i think ministat2 will do what your after.
     
  11. Axemantitan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #11
    It does. I found it here. Thank you.
     
  12. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    excellent! its a bit of a bitch to use but it works.
     

Share This Page