cpu running @ 100% non stop

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by matthutch, Apr 30, 2005.

  1. matthutch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #1
    since i upgraded to tiger (i got it last night at the launch) my cpu has been running at 100% pretty much non stop.

    at first i thought it was an spotlight indexing everything - it finished and then it stopped for a little while, and then right back up to 100%.
    I then thought it may be an application I am running that is having issues, so i closed all applications and have left them closed for hours now - and still 100% cpu usage.

    this machine is a 12" 867mhz Powerbook, with 640mg ram. Activity monitor shows plenty of ram that isnt being used, so it isn't a paging to disk sort of issue - I would imagine. The machine has been kept in a cool, room with airconditioning, and is well venilated (on a wood desk not carpet etc).

    any thoughts?
     
  2. redeye be macrumors 65816

    redeye be

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Location:
    BXL
    #2
    Open activity monitor in your utilities folder and click on the '% CPU' title just above your list of running processes. You should be able to find out which app is being bad that way.

    Good luck

    edit: you could also check out this thread:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=123187
     
  3. darkwing macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #3
    It's the mds and mdimport processes. It's scanning your system for metadata to use with spotlight. It will stop after a bit.

    Regards,
    Steven
     
  4. matthutch thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #4
    it was showing that VshieldCheck was using 90% of the cpu, does anyone know what this is? i quit the process and now am running on something like 10% usage.

    i might restart and see if it comes back on when after that.

    it isnt the mdimport and the other md processes as they finished ages ago and are using practically no cpu time.

    thanks any way though
     
  5. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    And your ears are not deceiving you!

    matthunch, Virex isn't compatible with Tiger. Disable it, and remove it. Sounds like you did an "upgrade".
     
  7. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #7
    i did an upgrade, and got the same kind of problem. But i guessed that it had to do with spotlight, and its indexing of all the meta-tags, and info. my computer quit running at full boar about an hour afterwards.
     
  8. matthutch thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #8
    yeah i did do an upgrade, thanks for the tip though ill kill virex now :)
     
  9. mainstreetmark macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #9
    it's definitely "mdimport" for me. Been running nonstop all day. I guess I'll just let er run.....

    sucks.
     
  10. TMA macrumors 6502a

    TMA

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    England
    #10
    Getting into the habit of using Activity Monitor, typing in 'top' in a Terminal window or using a third party CPU-use-in-menu-bar utility is something I have always found essential.

    Plenty of programs have 'gone rouge' on me before and try to grab as much CPU as possible and I would hate not to notice them. I'm very picky and a bit of a control freak, I found it unacceptable when a Dashboard Widget I downloaded was using all free CPU for about 10 seconds, when dashboard wasn't even open. I will not be using that widget again.
     
  11. NevadaJack macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #11
    What was the Widget...so we all don't load it.
     
  12. iriejedi macrumors 6502a

    iriejedi

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Location:
    Nor Cal
    #12
    REMOVE VIREX


    spotlight should vinf a VIrex uninstall.... that is the problem - I know from personal experience....
     
  13. TMA macrumors 6502a

    TMA

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    England
    #13
    MetOffice. Was hoping to find a better Weather Widget for the UK since the default Tiger one doesn't list anywhere nearer than 20 miles away.
     
  14. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #14
    I had the Monkey TV schedule widget installed and it was pegging the CPU indefinitely. Using top, it was listed as Python grabbing all the cycles but disabling the tv widget killed it. It's a neat widget but there's obviously a major bug there, it just seems to be running some Python process in an endless loop.
     
  15. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #15
    Yeah.. that's Spotlight indexing your harddrives..
     
  16. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #16
    It rarely if ever happens in Panther 10.3.9 or in Tiger. It used to occur when Finder would take up 200% CPU cycles, but doesn't much anymore.
     

Share This Page