CPU temperatures not reported (late iMac 2012, using iStat menus & smcFanControl)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Mac32, Jan 23, 2013.

  1. Mac32, Jan 23, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2013

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #1
    Hi!

    I can't find the CPU temperatures for my iMac. I have a late 2012 iMac with an i7 3.4ghz CPU. Both the iStat Pro or iStat menus will not report any CPU core temperatures. The only temperature is "CPU Proximity", which maybe is the heatsink..? Any way to fix this?

    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    What does smcFanControl say?
     
  3. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    Some fixes need to be applied to make iStat Pro run properly on ML. You can download the fixed app here.

    From the thread: iStat Pro replacement?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #4
    It says "0" :confused:

    ----------

    Thanks! :) Now processes is displayed again, but still no CPU temperature(s) here either. I only have ambient, HD, GPU and memory. :confused:
     
  5. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    Are you sure you have a CPU installed? :D

    Seriously, it could be a failed or disconnected sensor on the logic board. I'd take it to Apple and let them diagnose it.
     
  6. macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    Then that means the CPU heat sensor is not in properly or their is a problem with he sensor itself. Go to Apple to get it fixed.


    One more reason why your robot responses should go away. Next time actual take time to analyze before posting. This is my last post on this thread about said issue. Further saying anything will be reported as thread hijacking.
     
  7. Mac32, Jan 23, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #7
    Thanks for the replies, it can't be a broken sensor, because I use HDInfo64 in Windows 7 (bootcamp), and this program reports individual temperatures for all 4 CPU cores.
    Maybe it's an issue with the latest iMac model - not being properly supported yet by these system monitoring programs? Anyone with a late 2012 iMac who could confirm this?
     
  8. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    There were no "robot responses" in this thread. I suggested the same thing you did, that a sensor failure or connection may be the source of the problem. You post your way and I'll post mine.
    That is possible, which is why I recommended the "tweaked" version of iStat Pro. It corrected 2 or 3 issues, but I don't recall if CPU temps was one of them. Those reporting apps get their information directly from your Mac, though, so I'm not sure why temps would show on Windows but not on OS X.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #9
    Puh, seems it's a software support issue. I purchased Temperature Gauge by Tunabelly Software, and here I can see all the CPU temperature readings. Was a bit worried there for a while.. :) I'm sure it's a new main logic board that's causing the lack of CPU readings in some programs.
    Sent an email to the guy who made iStat Menus about this issue. Hopefully he will fix it soon.
     
  10. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    I'm surprised iStat Menus wouldn't work properly, as they just recently updated it: iStat Menus Updated With New Look, History Views, and Bandwidth Monitor
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #11
    hi, i noticed the same issue with my late 2012 iMac, no temp reading works even tried magician paster, does temperature gauge work perfectly?

    Thanks
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #12
    iStat Menus have been updated, and now works with the latest iMac models. You should see all the CPU temperatures there.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #13
    hmmn okie, which is a better software? stat menu or Temperature Gauge by Tunabelly Software? have you tried both on your new 2012 iMac?

    Thanks..
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #14
    I have both, and I prefer iStat Menu. Both do what they are supposed to do, but iStat Menu has a much better interface. iStat has also more functions, and is more tweakable.
     

Share This Page