Crash Safari with -> www.aramex.com

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by telegix, Jun 4, 2006.

  1. telegix macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #1
    Perhaps someone can report this to Apple.. Browse to www.aramex.com. Now, click on services on top middle.. Safari will crash.. The around this has been to not click on services and just float over it and then click and select from list. Tried on PowerPC and Intel mac mini..
     
  2. Sutekidane macrumors 6502a

    Sutekidane

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
  3. telegix thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #3
    Maybe I should call apple about it directly.. Shouldn't crash safari none the less..
     
  4. jared_kipe macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    I was about to come in and tell you that it didn't crash mine, but then it did.
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    Yeah, it crashed mine too. Regardless of whether it's a bad site or not, it shouldn't be able to bring down the whole browser! :eek:

    Edit: And crashed again while trying to bug-report it.

    Edit 2: Report sent, this time I didn't keep the site open while reporting it.
     
  6. chasemac macrumors 6502a

    chasemac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    In a house.
  7. killuminati macrumors 68020

    killuminati

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #7
    There have been a handful of sites posted here that will do this.

    I learned my lesson to just trust the OP. It's annoying when you have a bunch of windows open from different things and you click the link expecting nothing to happen. :p
     
  8. Felldownthewell macrumors 65816

    Felldownthewell

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Portland
    #8
    Oh...yup. There it went!

    I feel like we are people lined up in front of an electric fence. There is someone up front going, "Hey! this fence is electrified!" and we all go touch it one by one right after eachother.
     
  9. dogbone macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #9
    I don't use Safari so I opened it to load this site, which crashed without me needing to click anything. At least it saved me having to quit Safari.
     
  10. crees! macrumors 68000

    crees!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    MD/VA/DC
    #10
    I have just installed the latest QuickTime update (if that matters) then I checked the mentioned site. Everything works fine for me.
     
  11. hidea macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
  12. Lixivial macrumors 6502a

    Lixivial

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Between cats, dogs and wanderlust.
    #12
    It's crashing for me as well.

    After some debugging the function that is dying is:

    Code:
    function MakeRealHide(MenuItem)
    {
    	document.getElementById(MenuItem).style.display = 'none';
    	for(i=0;i<MaxMenuNumber;i++)
    		document.getElementById("ScrollDiv"+i).scrollTop=0;
    		
    	if(MenuItem == 'menu0' || MenuItem == 'menu1')
    		document.getElementById('selCountries').style.visibility = 'visible';
    }
    With the particular problem line being:

    document.getElementById("ScrollDiv"+i).scrollTop=0;

    Commenting it out makes it work just fine in Safari, et al -- the only thing it doesn't do is reset the drop down to the topmost position. For some reason Safari does not like the dynamic "ScrollDiv" plus the for loop's counter (setting it to ScrollDiv1, for instance, works.) Error log reports with various WebKit/JavaScriptCore errors.

    Anyroad, that HTML is a mess. The header alone has nested upon nested upon nested upon nested upon nested upon nested upon nested upon nested tables. Take a look at the snapshot from Firefox's DOM inspector (remember, the left-hand most side is the root of the document, with each indent is a new nested element)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. dogbone macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #13
    I can confirm that the latest QT update 7.1.1 has fixed the problem.
     
  14. Lixivial macrumors 6502a

    Lixivial

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Between cats, dogs and wanderlust.
    #14
    That's odd. I just updated to 7.1.1 and it's still crashing for me. Ah well, must be a fluke with my system, then. :)
     

Share This Page