Credit Check Code

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by xckid87, Jun 30, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #1
    If you bought an iPhone from ATT, the code is on the receipt to put into iTunes. I bought the iPhone at an Apple store and need the code how do I get it?
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Location:
    Utopia
    #2
    Apple stores don't do credit checks that's why you don't have a code. I would just start the activation process.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #3
    the activation wont let me finish until i have a credit check code
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    technicolor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Location:
    ><><><><
    #4
    That shouldnt be happening. You should be able to proceed and allow the credit check to take place within iTunes. Everyone who activates wont have a credit check code.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #5
    thats what i thought but it gives me three options 1. go to att store to get a code. 2. choose gophone or 3. start over. i went to att and they couldnt get me a code and told me to call a number
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    technicolor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Location:
    ><><><><
    #6
    Sounds like youve failed the credit check and need to pay a deposit. Once you pay the deposit in the store they will give you a code.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #7
    So are you saying that you did not enter either at pre-approved code or a SSN number and you got the options for the go phone? I just wondered because I really hate giving out my SSN.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    JoJoCal19

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #8
    I had this same issue and I needed to pay a $100 deposit. I went to the ATT store and their system would not let you just pay the deposit and get a code. They had to switch me over and gave me a free samsung flip phone and then I went home and upgraded to the iPhone.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    #9
    I had the same problems. I called at&t about 10 times and each time they said I had good credit but had no idea how to give a 9 digit code that works in itunes.

    I finally gave up and registered in my wifes name and everything went through fine. The funny thing is that my credit score is much higher than hers!!

    No one at at&t could figure out what the problem is.
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    D1G1T4L

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #10
    Sigh..........

    Just went through two days of trying to get my number port forwarded. Got an email saying it was not available. Said fine I will just set up a new number and then port it over. Just went through the process again and what do you know........

    Getting the Pre-Approval Required thing now?!?!?! :confused:

    Ummm didn't show up when I was porting and I know my credit is good. Sounds like I'm going to have another fun night on the phone :(
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #11
    I went through hell with this pre-approval bs.....but what you have to do is go to the store, have them run credit check, pay deposit, code is on reciept....which is actually your account number with AT&T.

    too bad I had my credit ran at least 7 times, just to figure this out. AT&T didnt even know what to do....I ended up the test dummy!
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #12
    Yeah them running my credit over and over again caused my credit to get screwed up when I was initially approved. Monday morning it's gonna be hell to pay at the new Death Star store.
     

Share This Page