CRT Display problem with Mac Mini

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by cwright, Jul 11, 2005.

  1. cwright macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Location:
    Missouri
    #1
    OK, the other day my dad accidently set the resolution on my brother's Mac Mini (connected to a 21" CRT) to a refresh rate that the monitor could not handle. As far as I knew, when that happens and the screen goes blank, it should automatically reset it after 30 seconds if you do not confirm the changing of the resolution/refresh rate. Well that didn't happen, and now I can't change it back.

    I've tried rebooting the Mini, resetting the monitor, turning it off and on, etc. But is there any way to change the refresh rate back to normal (1600x1200 at 60-65hz) without re-installing OSX?
     
  2. cwright thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Location:
    Missouri
    #3
    I tried that, but it didnt help anything. After holding down the keys until it reboots again, the monitor still won't come on.

    Any other ideas?
     
  3. zen.state macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #4
    I don't know what to do about the monitor but you should keep your dad away from all the computers in the house. :)
     
  4. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #5
    Hold em down and let it reboot a couple times while still holding cmd+option+p+r, just for safe measures.

    The resolution and refresh rate are stored in the PRAM, so resetting it should fix it if that's your problem. See http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=86194

    Have you tried the monitor on a different computer to make sure it still works and didn't just coincidentally die while he was playing with the settings?

    And for kicks, double check all your cabling to make sure they haven't come loose.
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    I would try unpluging the monitor, booting, shutting down, plugging the monitor back in, and rebooting (possibly with a PRAM reset at this time as well).

    Another opinion from www.appletechs.com:
    "You can get around the out of range problems if you boot off of a CD or another hard drive and go hunt down the monitor plist file and trash it. It should be under users/yourusername/library/preferences/ByHost/

    The file is named com.apple.preferences.displays.somegibberish.plist

    Just delete that and restart, it should reset your monitor preferences."
     
  6. dfinn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    #7
    Couldn't you also boot into single user mode and do the same thing?
     
  7. zen.state macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
  8. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #9
    Setting the refresh/res to a mode that a CRT doesn't support can damage the display, however it usualy doesn't, and when it does it is usualy fairly mild, ie, not total failure. However, I would, as suggested, try another monitor and see if it works while reseting the PRAM.
     
  9. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #10
    Hi cwright -- did you get back up and running yet? Talk to us....
     
  10. cwright thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Location:
    Missouri
    #11
    Thanks for all the help... I havent had a chance to mess with the monitor recently but I'll give it a shot today.

    I do have a small 15" LCD monitor that I could try to plug in, but if the Mini's resolution is set at 1600x1200, I don't know if it would change automatically for the LCD or not.

    Anyway, I'll let you know if i figure it out.
     
  11. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #12
    It always has changed by itself for me...hopefully you'll have the same luck!
     
  12. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #13
    Boot into single user mode (command-s) and delete that file.
     
  13. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #14
    Next time only display safe resolutions... its a checkbox...

    While zapping PRAM you need at least 5 chimes.
     

Share This Page