Crucial Memory Scanner Won't Work

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by pcfast, Apr 22, 2013.

  1. pcfast, Apr 22, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2013

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #1
    The crucial memory scanner doesn't work on my iBook G4. Any suggestions on how to make it work?
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #2
    It looks like it is an Intel only app and won't run on your PowerPC G4.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #3
    Ohhh! :)

    Thanks.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Tell us the Model Identifier and we can tell you what RAM to get or look at www.everymac.com for finding it out yourself, since that is what that scanner does (I just tested it, and it identified my system as being a Mac Pro 3,1 using DDR2 RAM despite being a Hackintosh only using the Mac Pro 3,1 identifier for boot purposes and the Hackintosh using DDR3 RAM).
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #5
    I see no model identifier when I look up Mac system info.

    Processor: 933 Mhz PowerPC G4
    Memory: 256 MB DDR SDRAM
    Boot ROM Version: 4.7.7fo
     
  6. pcfast, Apr 24, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2013

    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #6
  7. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #7
    1GB SODIMM PC2100, PC2700 or PC3200 – depending on price you can find. All will work. Get reputable brand as Hynix, Samsung, Kingston or Crucial/Micron. Avoid no-name RAM.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #8
    It looks like Crucial doesn't "officially" sell any RAM that will fit this model. According to EveryMac though it seems people have upgraded to 1GB on these iBook models.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #9
    Trying to check eBay. I think I could pickup a RAM stick used for about $10 if I am lucky.
     

Share This Page