Crucial or Apple Memory?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by neda, Nov 19, 2005.

  1. neda macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    #1
    I'm looking to add more memory to my dual 1.8 G5, should I get crucial or buy apple memory. I really dont want any problems after adding more memory, of course
    thanks.
     
  2. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #2
    Apple memory = Big no, no. ;)



    Crucial, OK, but still a little overpriced.
     
  3. Will Cheyney macrumors 6502a

    Will Cheyney

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    Apple don't actually manufacture their own memory. They just charge you a HUGE premium for buying it form them.
    eBay is the place for memory. Ensure the type of memory that you need and start hunting for some new chip auctions.

    I bought a gig of new, unopened Kingston memory for £50, more recently a sealed 300GB Maxtor 150-SATA HDD for £60.
     
  4. prostuff1 macrumors 65816

    prostuff1

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Location:
    Don't step into the kawoosh...
    #4
    Newegg sells Crucial memory cheaper then Crucial does.

    But just about any ram that matches specs will work.

    And dont buy Apple Ram, it is way overpriced.

    I bought my 1Gb stick from newgg and it works great. Mine is KingMax, which had many reviews on newegg, and it works great. Right now KingMax is more expensive then the Crucial on newegg, but when i bought mine was on sale when i bought which made it about 115 shipped.
     
  5. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #5
    Neither.

    Try OWC (MacMall) or New Egg. The link to OWC/MacMall is near the top of the MacRumors page you're viewing now.
     
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    Yeah, but NewEgg sells the Crucial generic and doesn't guarantee compatibility.

    The problem you have is, there is NO way for you to tell if the RAM matches the full specification including SPD settings, so if you're not buying RAM that is guaranteed by the seller to be compatible, then you're on your own for testing.

    It also makes a big difference which Mac you have. So if someone says their Kingmax worked in a PowerMac G5, that's no indication whether it will work in an iMac G5 (or indeed, if the Kingmax, or whichever, is the same internal design today as they bought last month)
     
  7. Uma888 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Birmingham, United Kingdom
    #7
    iv just ordered :

    Part # CT477889 (crucial)

    DDR2 PC2-4200 • CL=4 • UNBUFFERED • NON-ECC • DDR2-533 • 1.8V • 128Meg x 64

    I hope iv ordered the right thing :eek:
     
  8. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    Cas Latency 4? Very slow by memory standards.
     
  9. Uma888 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Birmingham, United Kingdom
    #9
    Should i send it back?

    PS: sry for hijacking ya thread!
     
  10. maya macrumors 68040

    maya

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    somewhere between here and there.
  11. gwuMACaddict macrumors 68040

    gwuMACaddict

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    washington dc
    #11
    what an unhelpful answer :rolleyes:
     
  12. maya macrumors 68040

    maya

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    somewhere between here and there.
    #12
    Meh, you hear this about a million times to date. :rolleyes:

    Same old questions, no one bothers to do a search. I cannot figure what is the problem with MR users or society in general. ;) :)
     
  13. Uma888 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Birmingham, United Kingdom
    #13
    ok.

    ill send it back.

    Iv yet to find a compatible solution. i found a few sites bt i dont know if they are compatible with my system :confused:
     
  14. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #14
    No, CL4 is the standard latency for DDR-2. Just look at any of the Mac memory vendor sites for the new DDR-2 RAM, they are all CL4. http://www.datamem.com/viewcat.asp_Q_C_E_1177
    Sure it would be nice if faster DDR-2 could be manufactured, but right now the only CL3 DDR-2 533 RAM is high priced gamer RAM, and we don't know yet if the Mac will run faster on CL3 than CL4. Barefeats has done one test that suggests maybe, but the results are within the margin of error.

    This is the right RAM for the new iMac G5 iSight 1.9 or 2.1 GHz machines.
    Uma - don't send it back, now that it's on the way you may as well try it.

    Unless you have the older iMac G5 1.8 or 2.0 machine that takes PC3200 RAM of course, then you have the wrong part.

    Uma, It would help if you specified which iMac machine you have in your signature line, then we could give better recommendations.
     
  15. Uma888 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Birmingham, United Kingdom
    #15
    *Claps Hands*

    Thanks for your comments

    I have a new iMac g5 (20"), and i wont be using it for ANY games, just basic video/Photo editing, and the usual surfing ect

    i used crucials memory config tool to find the right ram

    your right, i cant seem to find a lower latency RAM which is compatible with the iMac

    TY for your help, i was going to PM, but it looks like you have solved another Ram + iMac related issuse
     
  16. macmanmatty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    I have calculated my velocity so precisely that a
    #16


    If you like wasting money or mentally insane then buy apple ram. If not then buy crucial ram, it is just good and has life time guarntee.
     
  17. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #17
    They don't even put an Apple stick on factory ram modules anymore, I certainly wouldn't pay that 150% premium on ram which apple won't even bother spending $0.01 to label as "Apple".
     
  18. neda thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    #18
    thanks it looks like I'll be getting Crucial Mem.
     
  19. amac4me macrumors 65816

    amac4me

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    #19
    I've purchased Crucial memory for my PowerMac Dual 2.5 (not dual core). Never had a problem.
     
  20. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #20
    <sigh> I should just put this in my sig...I will never buy from Crucial again after finding out about their dynamic pricing games.

    OWC is where I buy mine...
     
  21. Uma888 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Birmingham, United Kingdom
    #21
    just got my crucial RAm for my iMac, works fine, no problems :)
     
  22. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #22
    i've always used Crucial ram, cannot fault it at all.


    even after a short spell in a bath for one stick...
     

Share This Page