Crysis 3 on iMAC 21.5"

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Serban, Feb 20, 2013.

  1. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #1
    Can anyone tell me if Crysis 3 is running well on any imac 21.5" ?
    Thank you a lot
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #2
    define well.

    to run it "well" you would most likely need the just announced nvidia titan gpu ($1000) each.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    WhiteIphone5

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #3
    I think he means like would it run smoothly without lag or drop in FPS
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #4
    I have preordered Crysis 3 on Origin (boo..), and I'm very curious to see how it will run on my iMac 27'' with 680mx. Looking at reviews and pictures, it seems Crysis 3 should be a lot more demanding on the GPU, but maybe Crytech also have optimalized the graphics engine. I doubt I'll be able to play it with max settings in native resolution like Crysis 2...
    As far as iMac 21.5'', I wouldn't get my hopes too high, maybe medium settings will work ok. Crysis 3 will be released tomorrow, so I'm sure you'll get more responses then.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    luminouslight

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    #5
    If it runs on 7 year old hardware (Xbox 360 & ps3) I'm sure the 680 mx can handle it at high settings at native res, maybe ultra at 1080p.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #6
    True.


    Were it not for the fact that the console versions of the game cannot in any way be compared to the original (other than content).

    The console version of the engine is a massively toned down and optimized for use on inferior hardware. It also runs on a 720p resolution.

    You can't even lower down the settings of the PC version far enough to get it to be on equal footing to the console version.


    Anyways. I personally think it will run OK-ish (30, maybe 40fps on idle scenes) on low-mid settings at native resolution on the 27" with a 680MX. But I'll let someone who actually tried it supply a real answer.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    luminouslight

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    #7
    That's more than fine with me. I didn't buy an imac for it to be a gaming machine. The fact I can game on it is just an added bonus.

    Curious to see someone benchmark this game though and see some real results.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #8
    Im very sure that on iMac 27" with 680mx will run at natvice resolution on medium AT LEAST.

    On 21.5" can anybody run it at native resolution and get 30fps with everything at medium (no AA etc) ?
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #9
    It runs on the 27" with 680mx on very high settings at 1440p fine, it chugs on ultra though. This is with no overclocking.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #10
    So maybe if at 1440p everything on high go nice and well...i guess at least we could play it on 1080p at medium us with the 21.5" model
     
  11. macrumors regular

    luminouslight

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    #11
    By "fine", what is the average fps at very high settings at native res?

    I'm pleasantly surprised it runs that well.:D
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #12
    Not sure exactly, my mate got the game early and has been playing it on his 27" iMac, i will ask him. He did say it looks brilliant btw :)
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #13
    Yes, the graphics are definitely "the next level". Almost the same upgrade as from Crysis 1 to Crysis 2. Crysis 3 is a lot more demanding on the GPU than Crysis 2. About 50% more demanding I would say (if not more), using the same settings. Even heavily overclocked you can forget native resolution and very high settings. Judging from the first level you'll be getting around 14-30fps, mostly around 20fps. Well, no big shock there... :)
    Even 1920x1080 at very high settings (post processing at medium) is at the edge of playable, but will probably hover around 30fps with a few dips in framerate here and there.
    Btw., this is with a heavily overclocked 680mx, I doubt a 21.5 iMac will run this game very well.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #14
    I understand that Crysis 3 will be running over 30 fps at 1080p on iMac 21.5" with settings low+medium
     
  15. Mac32, Feb 21, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2013

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #15
    Probably. After the first level the fps improved a bit (heavy rain during the first level is very hard on the framerate). The game looks very good at 1920x1080 on the 27'' IMO, I guess because of the insane level of detail in this game. :) I see some people complaing about that everything under native resolution is crap, but IMO the 27'' screen scales very well down to 1920x1080 (and I'm quite picky). I assume the same will be true for the 21.5'' iMac.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    2Turbo

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    #16
    Hopefully Crysis will perform okay. Should look good on even medium settings.

    I wonder how 680MX will compare to PS4 graphics....
     
  17. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #17
    Does anyone here know if there are any OSX-native overclocking utilities for the new nividia GPUs?
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #18
    Quite frankly overclocking in OS X makes very little sense. You should use Windows 7 when doing serious gaming, because you get better graphics and performance. That's the whole point of overclocking right? ;)
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #19
    Ok i have this running on my 27" imac with the 680 mx with a 200+ core and 300+mem overclock and you can forget native resolution, it plays well at 1080p on very high setting but still does not get close to 60fps (averages around 40fps). A 21.5" iMac would struggle with this game bigtime.
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    2Turbo

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    #20
    What about no AA @ native res with medium settings? Should be able to hit 50 FPS.
     
  21. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #21
    lol Crysis 3 is a huuuuuuge system killer. I can't hit even close to 50fps at native resolution on my i7, 680MX.
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #22
    I have not tried it on medium settings, it would most likely still struggle to average 50fps. It looks really good at 1080p anyway due to the amount of detail in the game. :) This game really needs a desktop GTX 690 overclocked to run 1440p at the highest settings.
     
  23. macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #23
    According to Notebookcheck, the GT 650M scores 32.6 FPS on Medium, no AA, 16xAF, 1366x768.
     

Share This Page