CS degree worth it?

Discussion in 'Community' started by jefhatfield, Aug 19, 2002.

1. jefhatfield Retired

jefhatfield

in the spirit of idkew's thread on mba school, do you think computer science degrees are worth it?

pro:

a good cs program helps the student find what they like in this broad field which gets broader by the day...also a degree in computer science requires the student to have a strong general education which opens up a lot of other skills and knowledge if that person wants a different career than computers or a career after computers

con: having grown up in northern california and meeting legions of IT people, i have only met one cs graduate and found most of the people working in silicon valley are self taught (think jobs, ellison, dell, gates, allen, and a couple of the founders of sun)

what are your thoughts?

2. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

Chaszmyr

There is absolutely NO doubt that a CS degree is helpful. But a CS degree is also much much harder to get than certifications, which are also worth it. I think the best solution (and what i am doing) is getting a degree in something easier than CS, and in the mean time working towards various computer certifications.

3. Taft macrumors 65816

Taft

A properly run CS program is most definitely worth it. The problem is that an increasing amount of CS programs treat the curriculum like a training center for commonly used technologies.

A good CS program doesn't focus on teaching its students current industry standards. Why? Because adequately teaching the amount of standards out there today is impossible. Because predicting what each student will use in their career is impossible. Because no one knows where the industry is moving next. Because being able to adapt to an industry or new technologies can be more important than being a solid COM programmer.