CS3 question...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by techster85, Mar 28, 2007.

1. techster85 macrumors regular

Okay, so I'm going to be buying a versioin of CS3 soon. My question is, I am still a student but I want a full out version for my work (i don't want to just have a student version and use it). Is it possible to buy the student version of CS2 from academic superstore and then just buy the upgrade? Because, it looks to me to be cheaper to do this than to just buy the full out version straight up. Does anyone know if this will work? Thanks.

2. shecky Guest

shecky

you should be aware that it is legal to use CS3 academic for commercial use (other than dreamweaver and flash)

3. techster85 thread starter macrumors regular

thanks for the advice! That will save a lot of money!

4. G4DP macrumors 65816

No can do.

If you buy an educational version. You can not upgrade to the full commercial version at a later date.

So can you upgrade from the educational version of CS2 to the commercial version of CS3, the answer is no.

If you purchase the CS2 package this should be made perfectly clear to you.

5. shecky Guest

shecky

wrong. it says right on adobe's site:

After graduation
    Student question
    “What happens after I graduate? If a new version comes out that I want to buy, do I have to buy the full new retail version or can I save money and just buy the retail upgrade?”

Answer
    You are able to continue to use your Education version serial number when you leave school to upgrade to future commercially priced versions if you want to, rather than having to buy the next “full” version. So you save money now while you are a student, and also after you graduate!

6. KD7IWP macrumors 6502a

KD7IWP

I just phoned Adobe and they said that YES I can use CS2 or CS3 for commercial use one I graduate, and currently as well. AND they said that if I buy CS2 now that I will get a free upgrade to CS3.

7. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

xfiftyfour