CS3 work on the Power Macs?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by TitanJeff, Apr 3, 2007.

  1. TitanJeff macrumors regular

    TitanJeff

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    #1
    I've searched for an answer but haven't found much so I bring it here.

    Does CS3 run well on the Power PCs? Does anyone have any data of how it runs vs. on the Intel?

    Thanks for any info provided.
     
  2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #2
    The Photoshop CS3 Beta seemed to run OK on my dual G4 but I didn't benchmark it or anything as we're going to get CS3 anyway for the dual G5s at work. Can't stay on CS1 forever... and we're not due to get new Macs until next year or the year after.

    Tryouts are not up on Adobe's website yet. I suggest you wait for product release and try the usual demos they put up there if this is an issue.
     
  3. hoya87eagle91 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #3
    G5 should be ok

    Hi I was wondering the same for my G5. I read an article in the April isue of Mac Life magSee the link below... that the major requiement for CS3 was OS 10.4.8. the speed comparisons are as follows:

    2GHz G5 tower vs core 2 duo macbook pro each w/ 2G RAM in CS3 beta ...

    Taking into consideration that this is a beta version of CS3, we saw some awesome speed bumps on some operations, while others offered only nominal increases. Your own results may vary.

    Radial Blur set to zoom effect at Best quality, amount = 30
    > PowerPC Mac: 120 seconds
    > Intel Mac: 47 seconds
    > Speed Increase: 155%

    Change image size by 500%
    > PowerPC Mac: 127 seconds
    > Intel Mac: 27 seconds
    > Speed Increase: 371%

    Smart Blur, radius = 10, threshold = 15, quality = High, mode = Normal
    > PowerPC Mac: 83 seconds
    > Intel Mac: 61 seconds
    > Speed Increase: 37%

    http://www.maclife.com/article/inside_photoshop_cs3

    enjoy
     
  4. G5Unit macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #4
    My 1.8Ghz Powermac ran the Beta OK. But I mean OK for a 15 year old.:D
     
  5. leekohler macrumors G5

    leekohler

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #5
    I just got CS3 on my dual core PM G5. It runs just fine except for one weird thing in Photoshop- when I click on the text tool, it takes a while to load the palette at the top of the screen. Anybody else notice this? Everything else is pretty much as good as it was in CS2 for me, but I also have 3.5 gigs of RAM. I'm sure that helps.
     
  6. Lovesong macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #6
    I'm running CS3 on a dual 2.5 G5 with 5 gigs of RAM and an ATI X800 XT, and a MBP C2D with 2 gigs of RAM. The performance is about the same. :)
     
  7. leekohler macrumors G5

    leekohler

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #7
    Yeah, from all the talk around here, I thought it was going to be really slow on PPC, not the case. I'm really glad too. :)
     
  8. ATD macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    #8
    I'm running CS3 (not the beta) on a PPC and it runs great. I like it better than CS2 which didn't run as well as I would have liked it to.
     
  9. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #9
    Ars Technica's review of Photoshop CS3 had benchmarks showing it to be a little faster than CS2 on a PMG5. And the Intel one to be faster on a MBP in OS X than in WinXP. :)
     
  10. leekohler macrumors G5

    leekohler

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #10
    Yeah- I haven't really noticed much difference. Funny- the general consensus around here (at least my impression) was that CS3 would kill PPC. From what I've seen, that is not the case.
     
  11. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #11
    Yes, Illustrator too. It seems to have been a compromise to get the program startup time down. Fewer active fonts helps this.

    All these programs seem to be a little happier with a little more RAM than in the past. For older machines with 1 GB or less of RAM, it's probably time to look into boosting that some.
     
  12. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #12
    Well, it's not like a universal binary slows PPCs down or anything. It just adds another binary for x86 computers to run, which the PPC ignores.

    --Eric
     
  13. leekohler macrumors G5

    leekohler

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #13
    I bet it's loading font previews as well, adding to the time.

    Oh no- I get that. It just seemed that a lot of people here thought it wouldn't run well under PPC. Maybe I got the wrong impression.
     
  14. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14
    I found CS3 runs well on my G5 but definitely runs faster on the Mac Pro

    FJ
     
  15. leekohler macrumors G5

    leekohler

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #15
    I would definitely hope that it would. Otherwise, why make the switch to Intel?
     
  16. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #16
    I was actually more replying to the general consensus than to you. Sometimes the general consensus tends to be a bit misinformed. ;) At least it's a matter of fact now rather than conjecture.

    --Eric
     
  17. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #17
    Very true :eek:

    FJ
     

Share This Page