CSS, Tables, and weird Errors... (DailyTunes)

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development (archive)' started by arn, Oct 28, 2003.

  1. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #1
    Hey all..

    i'll be the first to admit that I'm a CSS novice. I don't know what the heck is going on.

    Anyhow... there are some weird problems I've been having with the interaction between CSS div's and tables.

    I've got <div>'s which make up the center portion of the Dailytunes site.

    And Table's embeeded in the divs.

    If I set the table at 100% width, it does some strange things on Windows IE.

    compare:

    http://www.dailytunes.com/

    http://www.dailytunes.com/winie.php

    The only diff is that winie has the first table with 100% width -- which is what I want actually. I managed to work around the problem on this page... but have been told of similar problems on other pages.

    My solution for this page was to set the first <td> to 100% instead, and the <table> without a width (so it was auto).

    But in other pages, I can't set the first <td> to 100%... it messes up the way the table looks.

    arn
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    Have you tried replacing the table with <div>s? The only catch would be floating the album cover right, since you'd get rid of the <td> that puts it over there.

    In my experience, using 100% width on tables or parts of tables is interpreted in very different ways by browsers. Some just take 100% of the area they are, some want 100% of the whole browser window.

    If you want some help trying it out, let me know. I'll be home all day (work cancelled again due to the fires).
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #3
    Have you had any luck fixing it up, yet?

    I know you've been busy on it. ;)
     
  4. Lz0
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #4
    Placing a table width of 100% in a layer will throw IE (Mac & Win) out every time, I'm not sure why, but almost certainly it's a bug.

    The only work around is to use pixel widths - not much help to you if you want a liquid page.

    But then I can't see why you would want to use div tags in your design.
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #5
    Well, if you're trying to replace tables, you use divs and CSS.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #6
    Workaround: add a div...

    Setting the table width=100% doesn't work right in Internet Explorer on Windows. But if you wrap the table in a div and set that width to 100% and the table width to 100%, it seems to work...
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #7
    In the table's tag, put "style='width:100;'"

    That may work
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    You need some sort of size parameter (px, %, etc.) on widths. The only number that doesn't need (and shouldn't have) a unit measure is 0.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #9
    ya, whoops :p forgot the % sign

    put THIS "style='width:100%;'"

    Sorry 'bout that
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #10
    Arn - any closer?

    Doesn't look like it based on those links...

    Anyway, it's a fairly well known bug, iirc. Try changing your width to something other than 100% and see if that fixes it. If so, can you live with 99%? :p

    Also, as stated before, try style="width:100%" in the offending tag - that should do it.
     

Share This Page