Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

shecky

Original poster
May 24, 2003
Obviously you're not a golfer.
I will be getting my 17" merom MBP whenever it gets announced, and I will be getting it with some CTO options. i understand that the price i get from ordering identical product via walking into and Apple store and placing the order vs. buying it online are identical. i understand that ship times should be identical. i understand that either online or in-store i can use my EDU discount. so basically, there is zero difference buying it apple retail store or apple online store for a CTO - either way i wait, and either way i pay the same price. so PRE-sale there appears to be no difference whatsoever.

my question is AFTER the sale, is there any advantage to either? i have never needed to bring my apple machines into an apple store for service, so i have no experience with this; but will me saying "hey! i bought this here!" make any difference whatsoever? or anything else i should be aware of?

bearbo

macrumors 68000
Jul 20, 2006
shecky said:
I will be getting my 17" merom MBP whenever it gets announced, and I will be getting it with some CTO options. i understand that the price i get from ordering identical product via walking into and Apple store and placing the order vs. buying it online are identical. i understand that ship times should be identical. i understand that either online or in-store i can use my EDU discount. so basically, there is zero difference buying it apple retail store or apple online store for a CTO - either way i wait, and either way i pay the same price. so PRE-sale there appears to be no difference whatsoever.