Ctrl+F on osx

Discussion in 'OS X' started by treysmay, Jul 31, 2005.

  1. macrumors regular

    treysmay

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Location:
    toronto, ontario, canada
    #1
    im looking for the equivalent of Ctrl+F from windows on a mac. i love the function in XP. wherein you can locate a specific word throughout a web-page or an E-book etc. i would really appreciate the os x knowledge. thanks
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
  3. macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #3
    Command-F is the equivalent to Windows' Ctrl-F in most Mac programs. Command-G is usually "find next".
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
  5. macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #5
    The Spotlight tip is cool though! I've found myself opening random documents in Windows and doing the Ctrl-F thing because the search doggie is slow and lazy and not very bright.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    whocares

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    :noitаɔo˩
    #6
    and the cool thing is, if you search for a word in one application, switch to another application and do a new word search, OS X remembers the word you were last looking for :cool:
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #7
    Most "control-[something]" combinations are the same in Macs. You just have to substitute the "control key" by the "command key" (the one with the Apple logo)
     
  8. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #8
    Yep, it was good of MS to keep the same letters (eg. X, C, V for cut, copy, paste) when they copied the interface :p
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    mgargan1

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    Reston, VA
    #9
    haha... you said it before I could...

    hey treysmay, just to give you a heads up, the command key is the one next to the space bar that has an apple on it.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    wheezy

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Alpine, UT
    #10
    Are you accusing microsoft of copying? How dare you?! :p
     
  11. thread starter macrumors regular

    treysmay

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Location:
    toronto, ontario, canada
    #11
    thanks alot guys. I left apple at the dawn of the 9 to x switch and i regret it.
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #12
    I dig being able to type / to search a web page in Firefox on my office PC. Just like vi in terminal :p I wish I could get Safari to do the same thing on my Mac. I actually prefer Safari :cool:
     
  13. Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #13
    Install AcidSearch, not only do you get greatly increased functionality with the (Google) toolbar search field, far superior to and easier to configure than the "engines" in Firefox, but you can also enable Find As You Type, which starts searching the current page when you start typing. You don't even have to type the /... ;)
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #14
    Sweet :D Found this on their site: If the popup is set to "Press / to Enable," you must press the slash key to begin searching, then type the text you are looking for. This option also gives audio feedback while you type (much like Mozilla Firefox). Old habits... :p
     
  15. Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #15
    Yes, it doesn't have to be simple if it's what you're used to... ;)
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    stridey

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts, Connecticut
    #16
    And for the sake of completeness (and my world-wide evangelism campaign), / searches a web page in Camino as well.
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    whocares

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    :noitаɔo˩
    #17
    He must of run out of space to write down the 'quit' shortcut. Where the hell did alt-F4 come from :confused: :p :p :p :p
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #18
    This ROCKS. Thanks a bunch for the tip :D
     
  19. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #19
    I could say the same about Cmd-Shift-3 to take a screenshot.
     
  20. macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #20
    Because Cmd-Shift-4 makes crosshairs, and if you press the spacebar afterwards you get a "This Object" camera.

    And it has been in the OS since at least OS 8...
     
  21. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #21

    True, but there are only so many intuitive key sequences possible before you start getting double-ups ( :eek: ). And arguably, unless you are Paul Thurrott, you probably use the quit sequence a little more often than the screenshot one.

    On the other hand, Windows does have that nifty self-quitting feature if you open up enough apps at the same time. Of course, you have to reboot though. :(
     
  22. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #22
    You just made my day :)

    And, as if once wasn't enough, you just did it again :D
     

Share This Page