Cube (free first person shooter) for OS X

Discussion in 'Games' started by FattyMembrane, Jan 27, 2004.

  1. FattyMembrane macrumors 6502a

    FattyMembrane

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    bat country
    #1
    there have been a few attempts to get this working in the past, but you can now get functional builds of the open-source fps Cube for osx. It's good to see that there is a team working on this, as it's a really fun game that linux and windows users have been enjoying for some time now. the next version will support networking, but the current one has fairly complete features in singleplayer.
     
  2. latergator116 macrumors 68000

    latergator116

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    #2
    Wow! Those screenshots look awesome.. I am looking forward to trying it out. Thanks!:)
     
  3. jeffy.dee-lux macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Location:
    montreal
    #3
    am i right in guessing that my 500mhz imac with 16mb of vram doesn't meet the minimum requirements?
     
  4. Laslo Panaflex macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #4
    I ran it on my g5 with radeon 9600 and it ran great, pretty good for an .2 release. I bet that your computer can run it, it doesn't seem that graphic intensive, and you can adjust the settings anyway.
     
  5. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #5
    Probably not jeffy.
    But man, those screenshots look great!
     
  6. Poff macrumors 65816

    Poff

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    #6
    It will run it with no problem at all, as far as I can guess..



    Did any of you have a problem of the mouse being way too slow? The speed is on top in system preferences, but that didn´t really help much..
     
  7. TeraRWM macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Location:
    Middleton, WI
    #7
    Um...did anyone else notice cube (the FULL version) is already posted on macgamefiles?

    that's kinda because I ported it a while ago, almost a year ago actually, here's the kicker though, the original author took no notice what-so-ever to the efforts by me and the mac gaming community to port this thang.

    just an FYI,
    Derek
     
  8. davy the bunny macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dallas
    #8
    Wow, I'm impressed by how well this runs. My 700MHz eMac with 32MB of VRAM and 256MB of RAM ran it perfectly. If my iMac DV was up right now I'd try it out for you but you might as well give it a try, with a little tweaking I was getting up to 75 frames per second. Very nice, I can't wait for the networking. . .

    Saw the message from TeraRWM shortly after posting. I would have liked to try and play your version but it appears that the link to download it is dead. Could you provide another?
     
  9. TeraRWM macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Location:
    Middleton, WI
    #9
    Weird, oddly enough the link worked just a few days ago.

    Let me contact the content provider and move the data over and fix the MGF link.

    thanks.
     
  10. davy the bunny macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dallas
    #10
    Okay, cool because yeah I'd love to try your version, especially if it's got the network support and stuff.
     
  11. FattyMembrane thread starter macrumors 6502a

    FattyMembrane

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    bat country
    #11
    i'm on the same computer and it's just a tad slow, but still usable. the graphics settings are very customizable, so you can tweak them to get the best performance.

    TeraRWM: so you were the guy who did the working mac port! i had been badgering folks over at the cube forum about it last year and even tried to get a version working from jeremy's old mac code, but had no luck. i assumed you had stopped working on the port and gone on to other things.
     
  12. neoelectronaut macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #12
    Is multiplayer broken in this release? Whenever I try to look at servers the game just locks up...or is it just taking a long time?
     
  13. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #13
    It says right off that multiplayer doesn't work at all...
     
  14. neoelectronaut macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
  15. adt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #15
    Can anyone fill me in on the correct key for 'shoot' or 'fire'?
    I can't find it.
     
  16. PowermacG5 macrumors regular

    PowermacG5

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #16
    I think i want to play cube

    ummm okay the instal direction for the game, Make no sense what so ever. Theres a binary folder and a source folder.
     
  17. russed macrumors 68000

    russed

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Location:
    London, England
    #17
    not to sound stupid or anything, can someone give me a simple explaination of how to insall this thing and get it working.
     
  18. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #18
    adt: usually the left/only mouse button fires...
    russed + PMG5: you take the "cube-osx.app" (the 2.3MB one, not the small one) from the binary folder and place it in the maps n stuff folder.
     
  19. jeffy.dee-lux macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Location:
    montreal
    #19
    mouse speed

    anyone figure out how to make the mouse track faster at all?
     
  20. sethypoo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    #20
    Is the OS X version of Cube available now? Or am I totally clueless?
     
  21. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #21
    Yeah, is there a version with mutiplayer?

    I see and have downloaded the one on sourceforge the first poster linked too... is there a full version?
     
  22. Poff macrumors 65816

    Poff

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    #22
    The graphics (especially monsters) looks worse than the doom1 imo.
     
  23. tpjunkie macrumors 65816

    tpjunkie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #23
    than doom 1? Are you serious? There was doom 1 for SNES, and it looked nearly identical to the PC and eventual mac version....you're nuts if you think this looks worse than doom 1...
     
  24. neoelectronaut macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #24
    Besides that, Doom 1 (And Doom 2, actually) had SPRITE-BASED enemies. These are full 3D models.

    What are you smoking?
     
  25. Poff macrumors 65816

    Poff

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    #25
    Ok, maybe not doom1, after all I did run doom 1 on my 386 33mhz pc. But if I´m not tweaking something totally wrong, it´s really bad. So bad that I cannot understand why anyone would bother playing it. The monsters look no better than doom1 monsters, and that´s a fact. The walls, textures and stuff look ok. And the water isn´t much to brag about either.

    What values do you choose while tweaking it? Maybe I´m doing something wrong?
     

Share This Page