Current Version of Handbrake, 0.9.2 and 5.1 AC3

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Blazer5913, Feb 19, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    #1
    So I just noticed that Handbrake has a new version out that supports 5.1 sound in the mp4 container. So my question to you guys is basically "Is this the missing piece we were looking for in Handbrake?" Can I know begin to rip my SD movies in all their 5.1 glory and retain this for the AppleTV2? I've been waiting for a "finalized" version of Handbrake in terms of 5.1 before I begin the ripping process, but it looks like it is here. I just want a final confirmation from you guys before I start... Thanks

    Oh, and I'm also kinda waiting for this "version" in the VisualHub camp as well. I know that they can now support 5.1 audio as well, but in the .mov container. This makes tagging with MetaX extremely challenging. The MetaX ppl emailed me back saying they will be adding .mov support very soon. My question to you guys is should use the .mov container? I thought .mp4 was better and that .mov didn't work on as many devices. The files will mainly be played on AppleTV and computer. But again, I want to wait to encode before I know that this is the "version" and workflow that I want to encode my HD .mkv's and be able to successfully tag them. Thanks guys
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    bacaramac

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #2
    Ok, odd, what happened to the original thread. I can't find it, there was a thread already out for this topic and now it is missing.

    EDIT: Looks like it was moved under Mac Apps.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Handbrake is the best app right now for producing iPod, iPhone & :apple:TV compatible MP4 encodes. For instance, you can add AAC (Pro Logic II) + AC3 (5.1) to the same MP4 file in order to maintain compatibility with multiple devices "One rip to rule them all!".

    HB is great for DVD source encoding, however VH is better in terms of supporting more formats to encode from. This is perfect for HD .mkv --> .mp4 encoding. The downside is that it creates a .mov container which is why I'm not encoding HD content until as and when HB supports it (not that I have that many discs anyway).
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Newton, MA
    #4
    I used it last night. I think the whole user experience has been improved. Encoding was painless.

    Kudos to the HB team.

    Blazer, your wait is over.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #5
    The HB team has no plans to break Blu-Ray's DRM. However, if someone does it for them, they will likely then add MPEG-4 support to encode with.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #6
    I know this has been addressed, but I'm somewhat still confused as this is new to me. Is there a chart that covers file type compatability for the Touch, phone, 5G and TV? For example, .mk4 = ATV only. Note, I'm assuming the dual audio encode approach.

    I started to play with 0.9.2 last night, but didn't have much time. Otherwise this may make more sense from trial and error.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #7
    what speeds are people getting with the new version ? i've yet to test it :)
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Scarpad

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Ma
    #8
    Has anyone notice this with their encodes. It's probably my wireless connection but a few time during the movie I'll get some slight stutter where the movies will either slow down slightly or speed up for a few seconds, the return to normal.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    #9
    Alright, so for my SD DVD's that do not have HD versions, I am good to go and start encoding them with Handbrake, keeping the 5.1 surround sound?

    And as far as my 720p HD .mkv movies, I should probably wait a bit until VisualHub releases a newer version that can support the AC3 5.1 in the mp4 container and stay away from the .mov (due to troubles with MetaX described in other threads). They should be pretty quick to doing this correct? I mean, the Handbrake team basically figured out how to do it, why can't VisualHub??
     
  10. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #10
    Yes, I did. "Batman Begins" with the HB ATV preset (2-pass) stutters by streaming, but does not when sync'd (AEBSn). This is why I'm seriously considering the 750 gb HD for my ATV.
     
  11. macrumors demi-god

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #11
    Ripping for AppleTV preset from the physical media right now on my 3.2 Mac Pro...

    Encoding: task 2 of 2, 73.08 % (124.55 fps, avg 116.39, ETA 00h07m48s)
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    #12
    This has not happened to me at all with ATV on my AE Snow "G" with all my encodes with Handbrake. So far all has played flawlessly.

    I also would like to note, that upgrading to 10.5.2 has improved wireless networking tremendously with the AE. 10.5 had some issues and Apple has corrected them in 10.5.2.

    To test I started to transfer 20GB of files from my MBP 2.1 using File sharing to my iMac G5 2.0 ALS public shared folder. Went downstairs and started to stream a movie encoded with Handbrake. No stutters, no problem and it played without a hitch.

    Perhaps updating to 10.5.2 will fix your streaming to ATV issues?
     
  13. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #13
    Doesn't work for me. My pre-092 encodes (DPLII) stream fine.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    #14
    You braggart!!! :eek:

    I want one of those!!!!
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #15
    Maybe its that extra 448 kbps of AC3 DD 5.1 goodness running through your network ;)
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    #16
    Wow, those speeds are absolutely incredible. Although I have some minor apps running in the background, I'm at Task 2 of 2... 35.69fps, avg. 32.56fps... Seems kind of slow... Oh well. Any answer to my VisualHub question? There's gotta be a new version out soon. Somebody give me some hope haha. Thanks
     
  17. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #17
    I suspect that's it, my friend - and I ain't complain', that's for sure! The video quality sure seems better too, but maybe that's my imagination. If only I can find a silent enclosure for a 750 gig PATA drive...
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Newton, MA
    #18
    My encode speed with 0.9.2 was noticeably faster than with 0.9.1.

    I had no stutter streaming Natural Born Killers (5.1) in the following config:
    iMac -> AEBS -> AirDisk -> AEBS -> iMac -> AEBS ethernet -> AppleTV​

    On VH: Write the developer an email. That seems to do some good.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    #19
    Sorry to sound like an idiot... But what do you mean by extra 448kbps for the 5.1 AC3? Is there anything special other than AppleTV preset (I use 2 pass as well) to get this high quality audio from the source? Sorry, I feel dumb right now...
     
  20. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #20
    Choose the AC3+AAC option to get both Dolby Digital and DPLII audio tracks. The DD is larger, but sounds much better on a DD-capable receiver.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Newton, MA
    #21
    I think what he was saying was that the file size and, so, the amount of streaming data increases when you add a completely new, pass-through, audio track.
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    #22
    encoding with x264 on linux with the CLI I see no noticable speed differance (this may not be accurate I just did it a few seconds to test it)
     
  23. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    #23
    So how does this sound for my Handbrake settings for great quality SD DVDs:
    Select AppleTV preset
    I use 2-pass with turbo 1st pass
    And then change the CODEC to AVC/H.264 Video/ AAC + AC3 Audio

    Anything else I should be worrying about changing to have the best looking SD video possible for my AppleTV. I'm not worried about file size... Thanks guys, this thread has been such a great help for me!
     
  24. macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia, United States (Kansan in exile)
    #24
    Slow!?! :eek: I was happy; the 0.9.2 update increased my encoding speed by 50%: I went from an average of 4.0 fps to 6.0 fps! :D

    HB is running on my iMac G5 2.0 GHz with 2 GB of RAM and no applications running. In all fairness, it is deinterlacing (Fast) right now, but that's about the speed I get, regardless. Is that normal?

    What's the best preset for multiple devices (i.e. iPod and :apple:tv?). Right now I'm using iPod High-Rez, but I noticed HB has an "Insert iPod Atom" option now; does that mean I can use whatever preset I choose and the resulting file will play on my iPod without iTunes have to convert it again?
     
  25. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #25
    There is not a preset for Apple TV/iPod Touch so how do I get one rip that I can use for both? Will the new Apple TV preset just work on the Touch? I used the previous version of HB to rip my DVD's with the Apple TV preset but those files will not sync to my iPod Touch. Thanks.
     

Share This Page