Customizing a non-mighty mouse

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by ero87, Apr 16, 2006.

  1. ero87 macrumors 65816

    ero87

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #1
    Hi,

    On this shiny new macbook pro, i'm using a Radioshack usb mini-mouse. For some reason (I just discovered this), clicking the scroll wheel on a link opens that link up in a new tab. I can't find where this is under preferences, but i'd like to configure this button to do Expose, dashboard, or something like that. Is this possible?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #2
    That's a default Safari setting, as most tab-capable broswers behave this way. If you want to bind it to an Exposé function or Dashboard, you can easily do that under the Exposé & Dashboard pane in System Preferences. Just set one of 'em to "Mouse Button 3."
     
  3. mfacey macrumors 65816

    mfacey

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #3
    I'm quite amused by the fact that you made a screen capture of the isight window :D
     
  4. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #4
    :Hangs head in shame:

    You have just changed my entire computing experience. :eek: :p I've had a really nice multi button mouse for months but figured I couldn't configure all those buttons w/ out using the CD and so I never bothered with it.

    I <3 Mac OS X. And cool MR members who know loads more than I do.
     
  5. ero87 thread starter macrumors 65816

    ero87

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #5

    Perfect! Thanks a lot, works beautifully.
     
  6. ero87 thread starter macrumors 65816

    ero87

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #6

    I'm a secretly HUGE fan of taking screenshots, a feature that i always wished windows had (maybe it did? I dunno, windows sucks anyway.)
     
  7. Cloudgazer macrumors 6502

    Cloudgazer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Location:
    RSA
    #7
    Is there any way to switch the left and right mouse buttons?

    I'm running 10.3.9, and my mouse is a MS Phillip Stark mouse.
     
  8. ero87 thread starter macrumors 65816

    ero87

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #8
    I'm pretty sure there is, under the Keyboard and Mouse system preference pane. Button 1, button 2...
     
  9. Cloudgazer macrumors 6502

    Cloudgazer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Location:
    RSA
    #9
    No such luck. There might be the option in Tiger, but not Panther.

    Is there some sort of driver i can download?
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    It does, FWIW... I think there's ctrl-printscreen to copy the screen into the clipboard, and then you can paste it anywhere you want, for instance to Paint. There are other shortcuts too, for capturing specific windows, etc, I think.

    You (back to the mouse control topic) might try USB Overdrive to see if it gives you any useful additional control:

    http://www.usboverdrive.com/USBOverdrive/News.html
     
  11. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #11
    Under Keyboard & Mouse, in the Mouse tab, there's a section labeled "Primary Mouse Button." You can choose Left or Right. I believe this is the same in Panther too—that's a pretty basic freaking adjustment.
     
  12. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #12
    Opt+Cmd+S will save a .tiff to the desktop of the iSight window in iChat (so you don't get the app window in there too).
     
  13. mikes63737 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #13
    I know that this isn't a windows forum, but in Windows you can take a screenshot by pressing Print Screen on your keyboard, and opening a program such as Paint and pasting it into there, and then saving from there.

    About the 3rd button thing - Thanks! You saved me from the "mighty mouse"! Now I can customize my other mouse!
     
  14. MajereXYU macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    #14
    Windows allows you to take screenshots but it's far less intuituve.

    -Press PrintScreen Button on keyboard / CTRL+PrintScreen if you want only active app window
    -open up Paint or other imaging program
    -paste
    -save as format you wish

    OSX :
    -Press Ctrl+Shift+3 and get a nice .tiff (or was it PNG) of thw whole screen on the desktop.
    or
    -Press Ctrl+Shift+4 and use the provided cursor to select which area of the screen you want.

    All of this is built-in. If this is not easy enough for you, open up a Finder window and go to Applications/Utilities and open Grab.app

    It's a nifty little program that allows you to take screenshots and even take timed (T minus x sec) screenshots.

    Hope that helps and don't quote me on the Ctrl+Shift+3 and Ctrl+Shift+4 shortcuts; I'm away from my iMac atm and can't verify.
     
  15. Cloudgazer macrumors 6502

    Cloudgazer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Location:
    RSA
    #15
    You believe its the same in panther? Or you know its the same in Panther?

    Unfortunately there is no option switching mouse buttons in Panther without some sort of specific mouse driver.

    Don't worry though - I found the drivers I needed and am now a happy camper. :D
     

Share This Page