Cutting a Giant Finder Window Down to Size

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Mechcozmo, Oct 30, 2006.

  1. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #1
    Bluntly: How do I fix this?

    Clicking the green button doesn't change anything.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #2
    Don't activate Exposé when you have a 10 mile high window open.

    Unless I'm missing something, this doesn't look like an Exposé error.
     
  3. Mechcozmo thread starter macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #3
    You are right; I mistitled the thread. What I meant was, how do I fix the 10-mile-high window problem.:eek:
     
  4. MrSmith macrumors 68040

    MrSmith

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    #4
    Click a folder with fewer contents? :eek: Sorry, but for some reason this problem makes me want to laugh :eek:
     
  5. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
  6. Mechcozmo thread starter macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #6
    Can't. When I deactivate Exposé, the bottom-right corner is wwwwwwaaaaaaayyyyyyyy down there.
     
  7. MrSmith macrumors 68040

    MrSmith

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    #7
    OK, I'll take it more seriously. Sorry, I thought it was the computer equivalent of a 'bad hair day' but I've recreated the same thing and see what you mean. For me, I just click on another file in the shelf and then the green button brings it back up. Then if I go back to the original problem folder the window behaves itself.
     
  8. phuong macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #8
    how did you get it anyway?

    there's a program called "megazoomer" or similar to that, which allows you to make the most front window to fill the screen when you press Cmd+Enter.
    so, install it, and press Cmd+Enter. hopefully it'll make that 10-mile window to shrink back to full screen, and then you can manually resize it using its corner
     
  9. HexMonkey Administrator

    HexMonkey

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    Make it the frontmost Finder window then run this script in Script Editor:
    Code:
    tell application "Finder" to set bounds of Finder window 1 to {100, 100, 800, 600}
     
  10. Mechcozmo thread starter macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #10
    Beautiful!
    I'm saving this snippit of script just in case that happens again. Which I'm not sure how it did.

    Thanks HexMonkey!
     
  11. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #11
    Cant you just go to Window > Zoom?

    It works slightly differently to 'maximise' maybe this is what caused it to happen in the first place.
     

Share This Page