Windows Cutting edge Flight Sim: DCS A-10

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by BubbaMc, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #1
    Just letting you guys know that DCS A-10 is out of beta and has been fully released.

    For those of you that remember the 90's, where 95% of games were flight sims, this will make you happy :D

    You won't find a better combat simulator anywhere.

    http://www.digitalcombatsimulator.com/en/series/warthog/
     
  2. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #3
    Ever heard of Bootcamp? :p
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    JackAxe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    In a cup of orange juice.
    #4
    Thanks! I bought the beta the other month and didn't know it had gone final.

    Bleh. I have a Track IR 5 -- which I bought specifically for this sim, but do to a factory defect it, I had to RMA it back to NaturalPoint. They received it almost a MONTH ago and I have yet to hear anything back. =|

    Yeah, use Bootcamp miles01110. But for this sim, it's better to just build a PC. :)
     
  5. macrumors G3

    dmr727

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #5
    I'll admit - this is getting me a bit chubbed. I think I'll build a PC for it.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #6
    I think I'll build one too.

    TrackIR is a must have accessory, definitely. Also a triple head setup would be awesome.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #7
    lets see... someone doesn't want to play it because its only for Windows, so your answer is... run Windows!... makes sense...
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #8
    Another must have accessory, Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog;

    [​IMG]
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    JackAxe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    In a cup of orange juice.
    #9
    If I had even mentioned that I wanted that joystick, my wife would have frowned on me BIG time.

    Anyways, my wallet yelled at me and I went the safe-CHEAPER-route and bought a CH FighterStick and CH Pro Throttle, but that also allowed me to slip in the Track IR 5, and the game.

    But I'm still quite tempted, especially because this sim is so awesome and I just don't know what I could be missing out on? :eek:
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
  11. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
  12. JackAxe, Mar 1, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2011

    macrumors 68000

    JackAxe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    In a cup of orange juice.
    #12
    HOLY CRAP! An actual use for my iPad outside of dev! :eek:

    Not sure where I'm going to put it though, as I have a G25 Racing wheel in front of my keyboard. Speaking of which, with LockOn, I can use my wheel for force feedback -- which is actually pretty cool, as it shakes the desk, but in the beta of A-10, even though the options were there, it didn't work, so hopefully the final works now.

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++

    I bought Touch IR+. It's $4.99, but it can be used to control any app from what I'm gathered, so I'm thinking about how it can make Dragon Age and Warcraft 3 better -- I already have a G13 keypad, so it might not offer anything.

    Here's a direct link to DCS A10 iPad Pit;
    http://www.lx200gps.nl/

    1.2 is ready for download and use. Now if only my Track IR 5 were here. :(
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    #13
    This a huge file and I can't seem to get transfer speed above 42kb/sec even as a torrent despite having a 13 Mbps connection. Anyone else having that problem?
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    JackAxe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    In a cup of orange juice.
    #14
    I've only used their FTPs, which normally takes about one or two hours for me to download all 4 files, which I've done a couple of times.

    I guess there's not enough seeders for the torrent?
     
  15. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #15
    I was getting 510kb/s at times, from a 4Mbps connection. Hang in there, it'll go up.
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #16
    I downloaded it at about 2000K/s, so no problems here. Try a different server?
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #17
    Great input!
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    I picked this up in a steam sale recently and it is very impressive, but I'm running into a few problems with the keyboard controls. It seems to us EVERY key on the keyboard including things like home, pgdn, pgup, left ctrl, right ctrl, left shift, right shift, etc.
    Since I'm playing on an imac keyboard it's a bit of a struggle as half these are missing and I can't even get all the engines started!! I was going to redefine the keys, but every one is used for something! I know there is alternative combo key presses for some keys on a full keyboard, but not them all. Anyone know a way round this? Thanks. :)
     
  19. macrumors 68030

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #19
    Buy a $15 PC keyboard?
     

Share This Page