Cycle - short stop motion film

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Dagless, Jun 2, 2006.

  1. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #1
    http://satansam.co.uk/blog/?p=287
    Finally finished it :) took long enough too. Have I Got News For You is coming on now so I can't stay and chat. Enjoy, this video near enough destroyed my little PowerBook so be nice to it. :p
     
  2. Pancake macrumors regular

    Pancake

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    #2
    I tried watching it but it wouldn't load the last 1/3. I liked what I saw, but I couldn't play the whole thing.
     
  3. Kernow macrumors 65816

    Kernow

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Kingston-Upon-Thames
    #3
    Nice work Jimmi, I like it a lot. The music fits really well too. :)
     
  4. pdpfilms macrumors 68020

    pdpfilms

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vermontana
    #4
    Awesome. Great piano as well. I think all the time put into the project was well worth it, and I'm glad you stuck with it.
     
  5. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #5
    These are very cool. Think I need to do one.

    Nice work. :)
     
  6. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #6
    Do! They're very fun to make. though it was the editing side that had me pulling my hair out. We did a few shots in reverse, only I forgot to reverse them... god knows how... and redragging over 50 or so frames from one end to the other was NOT FUN.

    :)

    and thanks for the words guys!
     
  7. simie macrumors 6502a

    simie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Location:
    Sitting
    #7
    Nice work - my favourite bit is in the bedroom, where the shoes (slippers) come sliding over to the young ladies feet.
     
  8. it5five macrumors 65816

    it5five

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    Nice work. I may have to try doing one myself.
     
  9. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #9
    That really is a very nice product, I love it. Congratulations. Playing music is really my field, but I wish I was into this sort of thing but I don't know the first thing about it.
     
  10. DeSnousa macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #10
    That cool :cool:

    What apps were required to make something like that :confused: I love knowing what apps are capable of, its just amazing, oh the the creative talent such as yourself ;) serious though I could never do something like that :)
     
  11. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #11
    I was pretty raw with mine. took photos with my Canon 350D, NEED a high capacity card if you want to take a lot of footage in a 1 shoot. Just took the pics, copied them into a folder, dragged a set of 6 photos out at a time and placed them into Final Cut Express. Any more than 6 would mess up the order they get placed in. strangely enough :confused:

    Very basic really. :)
     
  12. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #12
    Basic, and very time consuming. Any reason you used FCE instead of iMovie?
     
  13. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #13
    FCE allows for shorter frame times, and I really need multiple layers just for organisation purposes. It's entirely realistic to use iMovie, just a lot quicker to use FCE.
     
  14. Pancake macrumors regular

    Pancake

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    #14
  15. Pancake macrumors regular

    Pancake

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    #15
    I have a technical question for you.

    You say on your site that all the pictures were 3456×2304 and that you edited in 720p. Since 720p is only 1280x720, would it be better to convert all the picture to 1280x720 before importing into FCE.

    Would that save render time or would it make no difference? Would quality be affected at all?
     
  16. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #16
    I thought about that afterward I did all the important, but I sorta realised that copying the images over rendered them into 1280*720. The only negative aspect to the huge resolution images is the space the raw files are occupying on my HDD :eek:
    all 8gb of them.
     

Share This Page