Cycle thru tabs in Safari

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by dbooster, Jan 10, 2005.

  1. dbooster macrumors member

    dbooster

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    #1
    I know that Apple+tilie will cycle thru Safari windows open, but I can't figure out the hotkey combo to cycle thru tabs in any given window. Anyone?

    Thanks!
    -dave
     
  2. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  3. munkle macrumors 68030

    munkle

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    On a jet plane
    #3
    Another good keyboard shortcut is command(apple)+tab to shuffle through open apps.

    Plus check out system preferences/keyboard & mouse/keyboard shortcuts. :)
     
  4. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #4
    does firefox have a key command for cycling through tabs?
     
  5. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #5
  6. wPod macrumors 68000

    wPod

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #6
    a cool key combo i accadentially discovered not to long ago is the command + ~ this will cycle through the open windows of the current program. so if you have 3 windows in safari open it will only cycle through them and not go to another program.
     
  7. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #7
    Actually its the ` not ~, since ~ would require the Shift key :D

    Here's a bunch more you can accidently discover too ;)

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=75459
     
  8. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
  9. thequicksilver macrumors 6502a

    thequicksilver

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Location:
    Birmingham
    #9
    Interestingly, the tab shifting buttons they mention in this doesn't work in my Firefox 1.0. I have to use ctrl-page up/dn as opposed to cmd-pageup/dn.

    (I keep getting told the server is too busy, so hope this only posts once.)
     
  10. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #10
    yeah, it's not working for my firefox 1.0, either.
     
  11. abhishekit macrumors 65816

    abhishekit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    akron , ohio
    #11
    yah its it ctrl+pageup or ctrl+fn+pageup..

    does anyone know how to change the option+link combination to open something in a new tab (in firefox), to cmd+link , as in safari?

    thanks
     
  12. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #12
    thanks. i had success w/ ctrl+pageup and ctrl+pagedown.
     
  13. dbooster thread starter macrumors member

    dbooster

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    #13
    Yes, bring this thread back to life!

    I looked thru that apple listing of keystrokes, but I couldn't find one to restore windows (or I overlooked it). That is, if a window of an app is minimized onto the dock and you select the app by apple+tab, is there a keystroke to restore the window so I don't have to use the mouse to find it on the dock and click on it?

    Thanks!
     
  14. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #14
    Don't think so, but try hiding the apps/windows using cmd-H instead of minimizing them to the dock. Then they are gone from view and reappear when you choose that application again (e.g. using cmd-TAB/shift-cmd-TAB to navigate all open apps), even Finder... (Only problem is that this only works for all the windows of a given program.)
     

Share This Page