Cycling?

Discussion in 'Community' started by medea, Aug 11, 2004.

1. medea macrumors 68030

medea

Does anyone in here cycle?
    My best friends both go out together all the time and my wife and I would like to join in. I'm thinking I want a hybrid but I was hoping someone could make some recommendations on brand/model etc. I can't afford a $1000+ road bike right now and I'm just a beginner so I'm looking to spend under $300. I know I can get a good deal on a used bike on eBay, such as a Klein I was watching that went for under $200, but I'll probably purchase a lesser model new.
    Thanks in advance.

2. emw macrumors G4

emw

There are several good models out there in your price range. For a hybrid, take a look at the Treks, which can be fairly reasonable (the 7100 runs about $300, maybe less). We have an older version of the 7100 for casual riding that have worked out well. Comfortable. Nice features (handle shifters, nice seat). Reasonable price.

Before you buy, however, what do your friends ride? If they're out on a road bike, especially if they've been training for awhile and you're just starting, it'll be tough to keep up on a hybrid.

You can find reasonable road bikes for $400 - $500 dollars, and many bike shops have great deals on previous year's models (much like car dealers). The hard part is deciding what type of pedals you want. I love my "clipless" Look pedals, but it takes a little practice learning to get in and out of them with the cleats. But they're much easier to ride with.

And don't forget the accessories. If you're going on any rides over about an hour (less when you first start), you're going to want bike shorts (padded), perhaps special shirts (don't ride in the heat in a cotton t-shirt), water bottles, etc. You may also want cycling gloves as it will help maintain your grip (and makes a nice sweat mop). This adds up, but is important.