cydia not working?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Enigmafan420, Jan 31, 2009.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #1
    I don't know if this is a cydia problem or a problem with my phone.

    Last night after in 2.1.1, cydia was working fine. But today it never fully loads.

    It shows loading data than drops back to the springboard. Anyone elase having this problem today?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #2
    Reinstall it. Had a similar problem where it constantly crashed.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #3
    How do you re-install it? Do you have to JB again?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #4
    Just go to Packages in Cydia and uninstall it.

    Then install it again. Amazing, but true. ;)
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #5
    Yeah, mine used to crash EVERY time I refreshed. It was really annoying. Then I reinstalled it, which took less than a minute. Voila! And Cydia works fine once more. But then I updated it and now it always has to 'Reload Data' :rolleyes:
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #6
    how am I supposed to reinstall cydia when it crashes before I even get to the packages scren?
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #7
    Try cancel whatever it's doing before it finishes. Does it still crash?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #8
    the thing crashes before it even gets to the "start up" page.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #9
    ...Oh. I see. You're probably going to have to replace your Cydia with a 'healthy' Cydia via SSH. Or do a restore. Only options available really... :(
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #10
    I am cool with SSHing the Cydia on to the phone-where can I download it and where does it go (what directory) in the phone.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Opie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    #11
    Instead of SSHing into the phone just restore and rejailbreak. Should be easier.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #12
    That is what I ended up doing-but it FRIGGIN takes forever-it would have been much quicker to reinstall Cydia... :mad:

    If anyone can post directions on just reinstalling Cydia I would appreciate it-just in case I have to do it again.
     
  13. macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #13
    You need to go into Cydia to re-install it.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #14
    Wasn't an option for me-Cydia crashed before I got to the "start-up" menu.
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #15
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #16
    Cydia for Unlocked Iphone 3GS

    Sorry to hijack your post. I have a factory unlocked 3GS and am trying to install 3G Unrestrictor. From what I have read I need to do this through the cydia icon on my springboard, but since I didnt jailbreak my phone I dont not have this icon. So how would I go about installing this app to my phone?
     
  17. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #17
    Jailbreak your phone which will install Cydia, then install 3G Unrestrictor via Cydia

    It's the only way
     
  18. macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #18
    This can't be a serious question...can it?
     
  19. macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #19
    Sure, another clueless one ? :confused:
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #20
    rock it

    download rock then type in cydia installer uninstall it the reinstall it then it should respring then go into cydia taa-daa:D:D:D
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #21
    You could go into Cydia to re-install it, in my opinion.
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    Benji222

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Location:
    So Cal
    #22
    PLEASE dont get rock. its terrible.
    Once its on your phone you cannot completely get it off until you restore.
     

Share This Page