Cydia: Sub-process /user/bin/dpkg returned an error code (2)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by iPodJBer, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. iPodJBer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    #1
    Ok, so as you see, i get an error in Cydia when ever i try to install an app.
    And while i was trying to fix it, i accidently deleted the sources and i don't know how to get them back :(
    Thank in advance
     
  2. iPodJBer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
  3. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
  4. EngageWithRage macrumors 6502

    EngageWithRage

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    Your girlfriend's house
    #4
    1. Run Cydia.
    2. Search for gzip & reinstall.
    3. Search for bzip2 & reinstall.
    4. Cydia goto Changes & click Refresh.
    5. Wait for Cydia to refresh.

    Not sure if you came across this on the net as well..

    Solution:
    1- Get your way to the file and directory structure of your iPhone (through SSH or iFile or Mobile Terminal ...)
    2- Look for the /var/lib/dpkg/ directory
    3- You should be able to find the following files: available, availble-old, status, status-old
    4- Rename "available" to "available-bak"
    5- Rename "status" to "status-bak"
    6- Rename "available-old" to "available"
    7- Rename "status-old" to "status"
    8- Start Cydia , make sure that you allow Cydia to load completely first (just to be on the safe side ), try to install some apps.
     
  5. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    His Cydia doesn't work. That's the problem.
     
  6. yave2717 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    #6
    Hi,

    there's a couple steps that you have to complete to get this issue resolve.

    1. Restart your Device or turn it off and turn it back on.
    2. As soon as you see the apple on the screen press the up volume key and leave it pressed until the Device load to your lock screen.
    3. Open cydia and try to install whatever you have in the changes section you might be able to accomplish this from the very first time, if not you're going to receive an error saying "PKG LOCKED" after this try to install everything again and is going to work.

    I'm a lover of everything apple and I have learned a lot from a couple Devs and as I learned I can help you guys too. you can reach me at:

    yavesantiago17@gmail.com
     
  7. Jfzio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    #7
    Hey, thanx for this quick fix. Worked perfectly.
     

Share This Page