Dashboard/Widgets are worthess- how do I kill them?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by twanto, Dec 17, 2006.

  1. twanto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    #1
    Ok so I'm probably the only one who thinks the whole dashboard thing is completely useless. Its a horrible use of system resources. Why should a frickin calculator take up so much RAM? C'mon apple. Anyway, how do I shut this crap off? I try to right click and quit from the menu bar but there is no "quit" option for the dashboard.

    Thanks Steve Jobs. Thanks for not giving me the easy option to quit your useless crap program. WTF??? For a product that is supposed to be so great, why oh why are there so few choices?

    I guess I should just be thankful the ibook was willing to share the mac experience with me.
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    Quit your whining.

    TinkerTool will also disable Dashboard.
     
  3. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #4
    There's a standalone calculator, if you don't want to use the widget.

    The majority of widget's memory usage is swapped out (virtual). My ~20 open widgets take less than 10MB each of real. They also do not take any CPU resources when not used (99.9% of them, anyway). I think if you close all open widgets, dashboard shouldn't be an issue.
     
  4. NJuul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    You can always just delete Dashboard from your applications folder.
     
  5. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #6
    I find dashboard VERY useful. Two clicks and you have the information you need. I have yet to find a quicker/easier method of making conversions and translations.
     
  6. Analog Kid macrumors 68040

    Analog Kid

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    #7
    If you never go to the Dashboard, it never starts up. Take the icon out of your Dock, disable the hot keys and mellow out...

    Just found this on the above link:
     
  7. tombarnes macrumors 6502

    tombarnes

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Location:
    Cornwall, United Kingdom
    #8
    Why don't you just remove it from the dock and make sure you never use it!?

    Simple.

    Does it use system resources when it isn't being used???

    Cheers!
     
  8. EvryDayImShufln macrumors 65816

    EvryDayImShufln

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #9
    I would vouch for this being true, as every time i start my dashboard for the first time it takes abit to load up.
     
  9. twanto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    #10

    From what I've read, it does. And the comptuer seems slower after the last update. mind you I didn't update it.

    Thanks for the solutions people!
     
  10. Arne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #11
    As far as I know the Dashboard process is started when you first access it. If you never start it, it will not use any RAM or processor time.
     
  11. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
  12. Andrew05151 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    #13
    I don't think that's entirely true. I just booted without accessing the dashboard, yet the widgets are definitely running, as they're showing as active in activity monitor. In fact the calculator is taking 15 mbs of real memory, and 321 mbs of virtual memory....
     

Share This Page