DDR2 PC24200 533 on Intel imac

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ethen, Feb 13, 2006.

  1. ethen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    #1
    I grabbed an intel iMac from compusa this morning, i found my crucial sodim 2GB (2 X 1GB) PC2-4200 DDR that i used to use on my powerbook.

    Do you guys think it will work on my intel imac? i know it said 677 on the imac but would it be possible to use this 2GB ram? i dont want to waste the ram :p
     
  2. majorp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Location:
    UK !!!
    #2
    is it 200-pin? it might even work in dual channel mode giving you near the same performance as 667mhz sticks.
     
  3. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #3
    Your thread title indicates DDR2 put your post says it is DDR, so which is it?
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    PC2-XXXX == DDR2
     
  5. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #5
    ahah you learn something new every day.
     
  6. ethen thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
  7. p:ro macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    #7
    DDR2-SDRAM

    133 MHz 64 Bit PC2-4200 4,2 GB/s
    166 MHz 64 Bit PC2-5300 5,3 GB/s (667 Mhz) Intel iMac

    Both are DDR2-SDRAM... shouldn't it work ?
     
  8. AJBMatrix macrumors 6502

    AJBMatrix

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    Athens, Georgia
    #8
    Yes, you should not notice much of a difference from that if it runs in Dual Channel and PC2-5300. It will actually run faster than if the new RAM was not running in Dual Channel.
     
  9. ethen thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    #9
    woah, yes i can see the difference, got into osx within 13 seconds compared to 22 seconds with the 512

    oh boy it works :p
     
  10. AJBMatrix macrumors 6502

    AJBMatrix

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    Athens, Georgia
    #10
    I was more talking about the same quantity of RAM in both. 1 GB unmatched 667 vs 1 GB Matched 533
     

Share This Page