deauthorize computer in itunes

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by phatspider, Oct 21, 2005.

  1. phatspider macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    #1
    I have moved all my music across to another computer but when i try and play purchased content it says I have to deauthorize as have more than 5 machines

    i only own 3 so can only think that itunes still see's one of my old machines as authorized. how can I sort this out??
     
  2. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #2
    goto iTunes page and support and e-mail them your user id and ask to deauthorise your account

    will be done in less the 24 hours
     
  3. andysmith macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Location:
    West Mids, UK
    #3
    I could have sworn they other day there was a button to deauthorise all computers on the 'your account' page... now it's not there :confused:
     
  4. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #4
    I think the button to deauthorise all computers only appeared when you had the full 5 authorised.
     
  5. osprey76 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    #5
    The "Deauthorize Computer" option is in the Advanced menu in iTunes.

    I'm not sure if each account on a single computer counts toward your total or not. Seems possible that it might.
     
  6. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #6
    if like me you buy alot of macs and forget to deauthorise then you need to e-mail iTunes support for them to reset your account.

    or if you do remember then advance and deauthorise computer is all that is needed
     
  7. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #7
    No you don't... the above mentioned deauthorize all sould be sufficient... :)
     
  8. sreedy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    Somerset
    #8
    Yes but that seems to have gone..... just checked my own account.... but I only have 1 authorized..... maybe as mentioned before it only becomes active when you have all 5 authorized.

    EDIT: Might help if I actually follow the link Mitthrawnuruodo so helpfully gave us and then read the Apple Article!!!

     
  9. Laser47 macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #9
    another way which works for me is to advanced>deauthorize computer 5 times.
     

Share This Page