Deciding to run windows on my MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by TWEWY, Jan 31, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #1
    I think I've finally decided to take the plunge and put Windows on my computer so I could play a few video games.

    I was wondering what program I should use?

    There are a few programs I could use and wanted a little advice for this situation.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    For running games, using Boot Camp is the best option. It is included with your Mac and all you need is a Windows installation DVD.

    Booting Windows on the Mac
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #3
    It would just create a partition no need to save all my information and add it again?

    I was looking at Parallels is that not as stable?
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Yes, you use Boot Camp Assistant and off you go. But backup your data in any case anyway.

    It is stable, but depending on the hardware specs of your Mac and the technical requirements of the game(s) you want to play, virtualisation might not be the best option.

    PS: I was able to run some 2004 version of C&C on my 2007 iMac via Parallels back in 2008 or so, it worked okay, but it was not that pretty.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #5
    Boot Camp it is, though I have nothing to back up my computer with odd risk I take I suppose.

    With a computer from 2009 or 2010 probably a better idea to just use Boot Camp.

    One more quick question sorry.

    Can I delete the partition later without any consequences or what have you?
     
  6. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #6
    Unless your data's worth nothing invest in a backup.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #7
    I backed up everything after all, but now I've run into a problem.

    Does it mean I have erase all my information and then put everything back?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #8
    I recommend doing a time machine backup, erasing the drive, then restoring through time machine the whole system. I vaguely recall there being an easier option for this error that you have, but I am not able to look for it at the moment. I will be able to tomorrow, however.

    Good luck.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
  10. macrumors 6502

    Braniff747SP

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    #10
    Disk needs to be defragmented. A good guide is laid out here:

    https://discussions.apple.com/docs/DOC-4032
     

Share This Page