Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Jeromino

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 18, 2002
(Growing long as I type, apologies in advance.. I'm a writer-type.)

Hi folks,

College student (who just got home for winter break :) ) and is facing the ever-pressing dilemma of how to supplement my computing collection this holiday season.

Essentially, understanding the nature of my interests, my parents look to me, ask me what I'm in need of or want, and we come to some type of financial deal that typically involves mutual spending for a product I otherwise couldn't or wouldn't afford. Here's the current lineup...

PC:
1.00ghz AMD Athlon
128 MB's RAM
80 GB Hard Drive
CD/RW & DVD Drives
19" Monitor & HP 1220c Professional Printer
Windows ME
*Basically I use it for surfing and anything requiring a PC. It's still snappy and I don't have a pressing desire to replace it anytime soon.

MAC:
800mhz G4 15" iMac with Superdrive. Ram Bumped to 512.
Equipped with Final Cut Pro 3 and the Adobe Publishing Collection.
*I Use this machine mainly for video editing and any other A/V work I need to do. It's rendering a short personal movie into widescreen 16:9 a couple of feet away from me as we speak.

Laptop:
HP Pavilion 600mhz PIII
64 MB's RAM
7 GB Hard Drive
Windows ME
*I Use the laptop in various outlets around the home and occasionally in public if absolutely necessary. I do a lot of important work on the machine and don't like to transport it too much because of that. It absorbs the gruntwork of my computing, but nothing ever too high-end.