Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

deadfrog

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 5, 2004
UK / Bournemouth
Hi,

Basically im a graphic design student and am considering a new purchase on the mac front.... I currently have a dual 550 powermac with 768MB of ram with a rage 128pro.... Have been real happy with it and aint looked back since i made the switch from the horrid home made pc thing....

I have been looking at either the Ibook 12" with 768MB ram (cheapish), or powerbook 15" 1.5GHZ with 1GB ram and ati 9700 128mb (very expensive and would have to last me ages), Imac G5 17" with 1GB ram (either of them) and finally the powermac G5 1.8 / 2 Ghz with 1GB ram (also very expensive but i know this would last and can be upgraded).... So basically have been looking all over the place and dont know what to do...

I have a 20" CRT so wont necessarily need a screen, and portability although would be good is not essential as im in my 2nd year and will be spending more time at home apparently although the computers at uni last year were crap. Programme wise, i use photoshop cs alot, quark 4.1 (cos the uni aint updated yet as far as i know), illustrator cs, a little cinema 4d... other than that just the usual word processing stuff...

anyhow, sorry have ranted enough, would be gratefull to hear what people would suggest as am really uming and arrrrrrring...

davegoody

macrumors 6502
Apr 9, 2003
Nottingham, England.
Go for the iMac