Defrag

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by TurboLag, Feb 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TurboLag macrumors member

Im new to the mac scene. What program do we use to defrag? Is there one built in to OSX or is it even necessary to do so? Do I need Norton SystemWorks?

2. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

Re: Defrag

You don't use any. Now get this. Microsoft ships a defrag utility with Windows. Apple does not ship a defrag utility with MacOS X. It does not make one available to .mac users. Apple does not recommend any product for defragging your disk. What is more, if you have journaling enabled on your file system, then defragging can actually damage your system. So, don't waste your money and be happy.

3. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

SilentPanda

I was under the impression that Panther auto-defragged in the background as needed. Could be wrong though.

4. janey macrumors 603

janey

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE DO US A FAVOR AND SEARCH THERE PROBABLY HAS BEEN AT LEAST HALF A DOZEN THREADS ABOUT THIS ALREADY.

http://forums.macrumors.com/search....d=460120&sortby=lastpost&sortorder=descending

I count at least 4 other threads with "defrag" or some variant in the title ON THE FIRST PAGE ALONE!!! They all have replies too!
    I see 20 in 6 pages with "defrag" in the title, PLUS i did a search that turned up all threads that contained the word "defrag"...thats a lot.

5. TurboLag thread starter macrumors member

6. janey macrumors 603

janey

Okay what you started was a thread. What people posted in reply was a post. Together they are called a thread.
    Please read everything you're supposed to read before posting a thread.
    Many people have asked similar questions because they dont search before posting and its a waste of everyone's time.

7. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

SilentPanda