Dell 2005FPW

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Dagless, Oct 23, 2005.

  1. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #1
    I've been thinking about getting this monitor for my bedroom, EyeTV plugged in to pretty much give me a fully working HD TV for TV (when it comes to the UK) and for my gaming machines. But thats the thing... Can a monitor like this, with Dells inputs on the back, act as a fully fledged HDTV?
    or does it just not work like that?

    It has Analogue / Digital / S-Video / Composite inputs.

    Sorry for being so stupid :)

    EDIT: What about plugging into my PowerBook. what with Apples funky video adapter that came in the box, is that all thats needed to work with this monitor?
     
  2. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #2
    From your sig, it looks like you are going to be plugging this into a 12 inch PowerBook, so you've got mini-DVI IIRC, I'm assuming that the Apple adapter goes to regular DVI, and the Dell monitor should plug into that perfectly.
     
  3. anotherjeff macrumors regular

    anotherjeff

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Location:
    Honolulu
    #3
    I've got a 12" powerbook and the 2005 fpw. Yes, you use the mini dvi adapter to plug into the monitor. The image is beautiful but I don't believe that it's HD.

    By the way, I also run my Xbox on it and I am quite happy. Although there aren't any speakers on the monitor, I just run the sound out of the powerbook's speakers using a program called linein at:
    http://www.rogueamoeba.com/freebies/
    sorry, the linking button isn't working for me right now.
     
  4. ChrisFromCanada macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #4
    The 2005FPW will display 720p just fine so don't be worried about that sure it is not 1080p compatible but that will not be broadcast into your home until at least 5 years from now.
     
  5. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #5
    or in England, in the next 10 years :)

    cheers guys! all that should be fine in my room, my monitor and PowerBook will be sitting next to my stereo amp so its all good. just one last question though, what would HD input as? something like a HD-DVD/BluRay player, or games console? Do they input with composite still?
     
  6. dubbz macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #6
    Gaming on that monitor isn't something I'd recommend unless you have no other option. The native resolution is just way to high compared to that of current gen consoles. I tried to hook up my Xbox and GameCube and it didn't look all that hot.

    For some reason the GameCube games looked much worse than Xbox games. I'm
    not sure why. :confused:

    As for HDTV, It should do 720p fine and I figure it should be able to downscale it (1080p) to the proper resolution if needed. Not that there's alot of those out there.

    Edit: Oh, you were in England. Figure you're in the same situation as us then. Not much HD on the TV here :p
     
  7. p0intblank macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    The 2005FPW is not an HD display, but it still a very nice picture. I have it hooked up to my Windows machine and games look great on it. The 2405FPW, however, is HD.
     
  8. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #8
    one more thing :)

    I have a Gamecube, Xbox and my PowerBook obviously. the PowerBook would connect into the digital port i assume? thats worry-free. but what about my consoles? can i get some sort of component "switcher"? we have a number of scart ones lying around the house but obviously this monitor doesn't take scart :)
     
  9. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #9
    Check out just about any store that sells electronics, and they'll have HD switcher boxes for multiple component sources.
     
  10. bursty macrumors 6502a

    bursty

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Location:
    STL
    #10
    You will be very happy with the 2005FPW! I just got mine and love it. Radioshack (or the UK equivilant?) has lots of different RCA switchboxes to switch between different game systems.
     
  11. Dagless thread starter macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #11
    brilliant! aww im so looking forward to this now! all i have to buy extra is either a Freeview box or EyeTV and some switch boxes.

    I've never used OS X in a higher res than 1024x768. I'll probably fall in love with this big screen :)
     
  12. bursty macrumors 6502a

    bursty

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Location:
    STL
    #12
    You will love 1680x1050 resolution :D
     

Share This Page