Dell 3007WFP

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Megatron, Dec 3, 2005.

  1. Megatron macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    #1
  2. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #2
    well if it does come out i have no reason to get ACD 30" i will buy one of these
     
  3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    If I were Apple, I'd be worried. There is no doubt that Dells amazing 20" & 24" panels have taken a lot of potential sales from Apple. If Dell go and release a 30" at a good price, then I'd imagine the already limited sales of Apples 30" will take a nose dive :eek:
     
  4. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
  5. adk macrumors 68000

    adk

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    Stuck in the middle with you
    #6
    [​IMG]



    It even looks better than the 2005FPW and 2405FPW. I wish I could get that stand for my 20" monitor. But apple is definitely in trouble. Most people aren't going to want to pay hundreds more for the same panel in a fancier case.

    With tons of mac users choosing dell monitors over apple monitors, does anybody think apple's next computers will come out with some wacky connector (a la ADC)?
     
  6. benwa02 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #7
    that will be badass. i cant wait to see the price
     
  7. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #8
    Doubtful, just because of the graphics cards. Would cost even more to make different outputs on them.
     
  8. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #9
    thats quite impressive. Given the choice I'd opt for that over the ACD.
     
  9. aswitcher macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #10
    WHat graphics card are you going to need to run that beast?
     
  10. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #12
    It's DVI-D (same as Apple), so it'll need any card with DVI-D just the same as Apple I would think.
     
  11. G5Unit macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #13
    Man I wanted a 2405fpw but this thing is amazing! Too bad my dad won't let me but one for my xbox 360 that will EVENTUALLY come. Also for my PM G5 X800Xt/
     
  12. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #14
    DVI-D only indicates a pure digital signal. if you want to run that thing at native resolution you'll need a card whose dvi connector(s) has a dual-link tdms--dual-link dvi. i think all nvidia 7 series do but i could be wrong.
     
  13. aswitcher macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #15
    So a new model PB with the best graphics card or a G5 PM with same?
     
  14. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #16
    yes. actually any card in a currently shipping power mac will run it--6600, 7800, 4500, etc.
     
  15. Xephian macrumors 6502a

    Xephian

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    United States
  16. aswitcher macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #18
    Damn. No good for me then. Maybe they will release a 26" with the 24" resolution or something that I can use...
     
  17. adk macrumors 68000

    adk

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    Stuck in the middle with you
    #19

    But a wallet with a few hundred left in it... beautiful.
     
  18. radiantm3 macrumors 65816

    radiantm3

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #20
    Considering mostly professionals buy the 30" cinema display, I'd think most studios will stick with the apple display. I think the only 30" potential customers apple is going to lose is the general consumers and creative folks with a limited budget.
     
  19. davidcb13 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    #21
    Why would professionals chose a lesser quality more expensive product? assuming this new dell follows the same pattern as the 20" and 23" have
     
  20. p0intblank macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #22
    I would consider one of these ONLY if it were in a silver enclosure. I just can't imagine having a black LCD monitor with a nice aluminum Power Mac. I'm all about style when it comes to my setups. I don't see this happening... but you never know. I just wish they looked better. :(
     
  21. radiantm3 macrumors 65816

    radiantm3

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #23
    Doesn't the 20" on both use the same exact panel? How is that lesser quality? I know the aluminum casing is much better quality than the cheap plastic dell casings.

    Cinema displays are SWOP certified. I have a feeling that Dell is using the exact same 30" panel as well. I mean how many 30" (2560x1600) panel makers are there? So considering they both have the same quality panels, and apple has a much better casing (along with FW ports), I'd rather buy the Cinema display. But that's just me.
     
  22. wako macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    #24

    You obviously take americans lightly, dont know about the rest of the world but Americans will buy anything as long as there is a reason to
     
  23. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #25
    I want it. I have the 20" right now and if this comes out then I'd go this over the ACD which I was considering in the next 12 months.
     

Share This Page