Design help

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by mac15, Apr 9, 2002.

1. mac15 macrumors 68040

mac15

Most designers get stuck for ideas (I'm no designer but I wanna be )
    anyway could you the macrumors community lend me some ideas on what to draw and create. I have made stuff before check http://www.ambitiouslemon.com/ it has some crap I have made but it sucks ( well not sucks but its just patterns and stuff. I know some of the macrumors community are designers so lend some help for this stuck amatuer.
    I think this is my longest ever thread :D
    Anyway looking forward to hearing from you

2. iGav macrumors G3

3. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

Mr. Anderson

I've done my share of design and I've found the best way to get going is to just do it. Practice sketching out ideas, practice playing with photo shop - actually a really good book for great instructional how to's in photoshop are the Photoshop Wow! books. If you can't find the latest version, don't worry. There are more than enough samples on techniques that aren't version dependent.

Some good tutorials and inspirational stuff

http://www.computerarts.co.uk

But tell us more about what it is you want to design? That might help

4. krossfyter macrumors 601

krossfyter

all the above suggestions are good.

remember infromal is more intersting than formal....if you use it right. try messing around with only 2 or 3 colors and be consistant with them....depends on what you are doing of course. try and stay simple first....to much action in a design tends to make your design look very busy and over saturated etc. etc. think about what your saying if you are saying anything.....concept is good...or theme whatever you want to call it.

check this.....

http://www.macaddict.com/magazine/extra/pros/

it helps to know how the pros are doing thier art....go through the ones dealing with print media and or illustration....its gives you some help in a certain area

5. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus