DESIGNERS - Powerbook or Desktop?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Kimberley, Feb 2, 2004.

1. Kimberley macrumors newbie

Jan 13, 2004
    I am deciding on getting a laptop or desktop. Either 15.2" 1.25Ghz Powerbook or dual G5 1.8GHz

Anybody using a powerbook or desktop for design work - What do you recommend would be suitable and why.

How much RAM do you recommend to get for programs such as Photoshop, Illustrator, Quark/In-Design, Dreamweaver etc.

If I were to go for the powerbook is there any cons that I might come across.

Is there any problems with the dual G4 1.25 0S9/0SX compatible, the value of them are good at the moment - considering I am a student.

Would appreciate some advice

2. virividox macrumors 601

Aug 19, 2003
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    well it depends.

are you going to be designing on the move and taking your designes to presentations. if you are than the powerbook will fit ur needs.

if you dont move around that much, than a desktop is better. you can get a really nice monitor either an apple display, a 21 crt, or a formac. the pro of a desktop is the fact they have faster hard drives and future expandability, as well as teh dual proc which really rip through apps.

the powerbook is no slouch, but it will feel slow once you have edited on a dual. one thing to remember is powerbooks still are on the g4, it would be nice to adopt the new tech.

the sweet spot for ram is anywhere between 1-2 gigs. in teh g5 i dont think going over 2 would be needed, especially since ur a student you gotta watch cost and maximize ur money.

the cons with the pb, well there is teh white spot problem, but thats been resolved. you might want to get a powerbook with the faster hd, cuz that will help a lot with doing design based work.

dual 1.25 are good, but id rather get a powerbook than a dual 1.25 and rather get a g5 than a powerbook.
  3. rt_brained macrumors 6502a

Jan 13, 2002