Desktop is broke.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by nitynate, Oct 9, 2006.

  1. nitynate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
  2. thewhitehart macrumors 6502a

    thewhitehart

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Location:
    The town without George Bailey
    #2
    Force quit the finder by choosing force quit from the Apple menu and selecting Finder, where it will give you the option to restart the finder.
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    Or restart the machine. Sometimes it's good to give your computer a reboot. :)
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  5. nitynate thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #5
    yeah....


    (restarting didnt work)
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Maybe check the Displays pane of System Preferences to see that your Mac doesn't think an external display is being used. Also, if you drag a file to the actual Desktop, does it show up there? :)
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    I've had no end of troubles with disappearing desktop icons with CrossOver installed. As soon as I removed it, all the problems went away. I'm not certain, but I think it's the "CD detector" component that does it.
     
  8. nitynate thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #8
    I got rid of crossover and I am still getting the same problem.

    Even when I click on the desktop, the task doesnt switch to finder.
     
  9. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #9
    Go into System Preferences, click on Accounts, choose your account on the left, and then click Login Items on the right. Remove the list item CROSS OVER CD HELPER (or similar) by single clicking it and then clicking the - just below the list. This will stop that program from running when you start up your computer :). If you now restart, it should all be back to normal.

    If that doesn't work, try just changing the displayed items on your desktop to 'refresh' the settings.
    Click on the desktop, go View at the top, and just try fiddling around with the icon size. If nothing appears then, then close that little window and press Command + , (comma). This will bring up the preferences window for Finder. Click General at the top, and then try un-ticking some of the boxes, and re-ticking them.

    Hope one of the above works :)
     
  10. nitynate thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #10
    I did the first, but the second didnt work so well. :eek:
    Notice how when I first start up, it automatically selects the desktop.

    [​IMG]

    I cant select it otherwise. I told you, my desktop part of my desktop is totally busted
    And it's still broken.
     
  11. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #11
    Well, after deleting CrossOver, did you remove com.apple.desktop.plist from the Preferences folder and reboot? That might get things started. :)
     
  12. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    Did you remove CrossOver properly as per their instructions or did you just drag the bundle to the Trash?
     
  13. nitynate thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #13
    I used app zapper.


    And thanks mad jew I will try that now.


    EDIT:
    Nope, its a no-go.


    Should I try an archive and install?
     
  14. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #14
    Okay, well AppZaper is quite comprehensive, but follow this guide on the CrossOver site to ensure everything has been removed. I don't think a reinstall is necessary at this stage. Hopefully it won't come to that. :)
     

Share This Page