Diablo 2 on OSX

Discussion in 'Games' started by kingnoc, Apr 23, 2004.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #1
    hi all,

    its been rather confusing trying to answer a few of the following questions regarding Diablo 2 on OSX:

    1) I have the Classic install disks, but no Classic installation. Is there a way to install the game running just OSX? Are there even CD's made that will install without Classic? If so how do i tell these CD's from the ones for Classic?? argh!!

    2) Once the game is installed, all i really want to do is play on my LAN, but i'll be trying to play with someone running the PC version. Is this possible? Ive read some stuff that seems to say that Macs and PCs arent capable of playing together, but this seems just silly... anyone know?


    thanks to anyone who can answer.

    -kingnoc
     
  2. macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #2
    I don't know about the no classic install for Diablo, but I remember there was a solution like that for Starcraft discussed in some thread, somewhere.

    I can guarantee that the Mac PC issue is nonexistent, as I play co-op with my PC totin' friend many times.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    #3
    unless someone figured out how to extract the files straight from the discs (which i doubt,) then you'll need classic to install. you might not have to install classic however, if someone else has the mac installation of diablo ii, drag-and-drop will work. or if you have two cd-rom drives, you could start your mac up from a mac os 8/9 cd and install that way. or if you don't access to two drives, make disc images of the d2 install discs, startup from os 9 disc, and then install.
    hope i helped :)

    p.s. it's uncommon that a game doesn't network between platforms (mac, windows.) and you can trust that any game blizzard makes will have cross-platform networking.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #4
    Just so long as you don't have a newer Apple computer that can't start up from OS 9. Grrrr. Grrrr I say to Apple for dropping the ability to start up from OS 9. Yeah, I know it's time for people to move on, but sometimes, it's little **** like this that is rrreeeeaallly irritating!
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    #5
    i've been revisiting diablo 2 and the lod expansion over the past few months, playing with characters i never thought i'd be playing with... who knew the necromancer could be so much fun eh?

    the installation process requires that you do it through classic. after doing so, you need to download the osx patch which allows you to play diablo ii on osx. go here to download the 1.10b patch. original is 26.9mb, the expansion is 12.2mb. instructions are provided there on which one you need to use and such.

    as for cross platform compatibility, playing wise - yes you can. i have friends over at the east coast who own their dells, and i've played them online through battle net and the whole lot.

    i hope that helps.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #6
    Well, while its great to know i could play with my friends if i wanted to, i cant actually install the game. because i chose not to install classic and formatted my HD for OSX, when i boot into Classic from my 9.1 CD, i cant access my HD at all. not to mention i dont have 2 cd drives and you cant eject the startup disk.

    would anyone be willing to help out with a copy of the already carbonized files for the game?? thanks guys.

    -kingnoc
     
  7. bux
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Location:
    Sweden
    #7
    hmmm... do I understand this correctly if it means that Diablo 2 is impossible to install with OS X?
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #8
    could someone print out a list of files that the installer installed? a mpq editer/extracter might let us extract the fiels ourselves.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney,Australia
    #9
    As I understand it if you can run classic you can install and certainly you can copy it from machine to machine once installed so any Middle aged mac up to 6-7 years old that you can copy the files off you should be able to get a working version.


    Cool a copy /Paste does work:) Note I probably have extra files because my install is 3-4 years old and I have copyed files from the disk so it doesnt access the cd to read them, ie you probably only need carbon versions of duplicated files and caches and logs will be created by Diablo.


    Battle.net Cache
    Battle.net Cache alias
    Battle.net Log
    BNUpdate
    BNUpdate (Carbon)
    bnupdate.log
    default.key
    Diablo II
    Diablo II (Carbon)
    Diablo II Data (Carbon)
    Diablo II Expansion Data
    Diablo II Expansion Movies
    Diablo II Expansion Music
    Diablo II Expansion Speech
    Diablo II Game Data
    Diablo II Graphics
    Diablo II Movies
    Diablo II Music
    Diablo II Patch
    Diablo II Patch (Carbon)
    Diablo II Sounds
    Diablo II Speech
    How to Install.txt
    logs
    Patch 1.08b Info
    Patch 1.09 Info
    Patch.txt
    Save
    Storm
    tos-unicode_USA.txt
     
  10. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #10
    if you have your OS X discs you should be able to install classic back onto your system with no problem, or use your software restore cds that came with your Mac
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #11
    but, that is annoying.

    I'd like to make a small program that asks you to load the cd then extract the files for you without loading any classic. I don't have classix anywhere and might someday have only a computer that doesn't support classic.

    btw, thank you very much for the list, I'll see if I can get something working by this or the next weekend.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #12
    ok, well the only thing I see left to do is to insert a CDkey into the installation...

    I don't want to do anything illegal, but if anyones got info on changing cdkeys or editing cdkeys, let me know by PM.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    #13
    Using PC disks for Diablo II mac os X install

    If you bought the PC disks from one of the old, old older releases of Diablo II but now have a mac...

    You can download the demo, swap out all of the game's data files (except the sound fx), rename them to what the demo's files were called, and install the carbon update from Blizzard. I did this on a Powerbook 17 (so I don't have any classic but classic mode). You have to keep the play disc in to play, even though it's the pc disk. The only drawback is that this doesn't work for the sound fx resource file. I've played multiplayer online, too, with this install. Better than forking over the cash to buy a game you already bought in the past. This even works if you install LoD on top of it (and the LoD sfx do work! So few noises until act IV). Just thought I'd put my word in.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    In a nice place..
    #14
    I was wondering if this was possible. I also have the Diablo2 PC version, and didn't want to rebuy it for my Mac. (unless it was super cheap, and I had a real itch to play Diablo2 again)...

    Kimo

     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #15
    the sfx data file is where the cd-key stuff is stored, thats prob why (but not sure why) it doesn't work correctly; the exp stores it's cd key in the char file for the PC. I'm not sure where they are stored on the mac side, but I was planning on inserting them into the patch file because the patch file is tried first.

    just me thinking outloud. I'll download the demo and see whatsup there.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Muskie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #16
    yay

    Good news for all of us! Blizzard has recently released an OS X Native Installer! It can be found at http://www.blizzard.com/support/?id=adt0387p (bottom of the page) I remembered seeing this thread a while ago, so when I heard the news, I figured I would let you guys know. Good luck
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    ZildjianKX

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    #17
    They're making a Starcraft OS X installer too, yay! Blizzard has to be the most dedicated mac company who makes original games (not porting like Aspyr, etc).
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #18
    awesome, wasn't makin much progress getting the cdkey encoded.
     
  19. macrumors 68020

    neoelectronaut

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Southeastern Louisiana
    #19
    I only wish they'd make a OS X-native version of the original Diablo now so I can modem play with my PC buddy.
     
  20. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #20
    even better if they upgraded the resolution on it.. playing 17" strectched sucks!
     
  21. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Mount Isa, OZ
    #21
    Does anyone know if the OSX native installer will work with PC D2 Disks?
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    kgarner

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    #22
    It will work with the PC Play and Cinematics Disk, but you have to have a Mac Install Disk. That's how I installed it on mine, and I did try the PC disk first to see if that would work.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    ExoticFish

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Location:
    The inner depths of madness, aka Kent, OH
    #23
    i thought all D2 disks were cross platform? mine are.
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    Muskie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #24
    I believe there is a hybrid version, (windows and mac) which is what most of us have, and a pc only version. I don't believe there is a mac only version.
     
  25. macrumors 68000

    kgarner

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    #25
    They released the PC version first (hence those of us with PC only disks) and later (but not much later) released the hybrid version for the Mac and PC (hence no Mac only version)
     

Share This Page