OS X Diablo 3 Installation - Help!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by DavidLeigh, Nov 7, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I bought a full retail hard copy of Diablo 3. When it got to the screen asking me to activate it. I clicked Activate simply because i don't have a Battle.net account and all that. So i went through the process, registered and downloaded the 50mb game client. The installation seems to be taking a long time getting through the first few percent. Is this normal? What do i do with the game client? Was i supposed to click "i've already activated"? I've not done anything with the game before, no beta, demo or anything....just stuck a brand new disc in. It's getting late and i don't want to stay up all night. Please help.

    Cheers,
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Now that you have a battle.net account set up, all you have to do is let the installer finish... I don't know why it would be stuck, but try to wait it out another 10mins.. hopefully it finishes, then when you launch the game you'll log in w/ your email/pw and that's that.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #4
    That's a good question. I originally installed from a disk, and dutifully applied patches as available. My entire Diablo III folder is just shy of 13 GB.

    Some of the game is on your computer, and some on the Blizzard servers.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    #5
    You don't need to download the game client. Just insert the disc and install. It'll update then you can launch and sign in
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Probably for digitally downloading the game if you didn't buy a boxed copy.
     

Share This Page