Diablo II 800x600 Max Rez?

Discussion in 'Games' started by tayzer2, May 27, 2004.

  1. tayzer2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Location:
    Coldwater, MI
    #1
    Greetings!

    I installed D2 on my Mac last night using the OSX native installer provided by Blizzard (blessing) and I noticed I could only get 800x600 (stretched) max resolution. I even installed the 1.10 patch for the panther issues but thats the hightest I see. The game runs fantastic except at 800x600 it looks a little grainy. It's been a couple of years since I played it on my PC but I thought you could get 1024x768 out of it. Is this different for Macs?. I have a new Al PB with 512 ram and 64 MB radeon 9700. Am I missing something or is that the limit? Do I need a new video card driver?

    Thanks.
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Have you installed the 10.3.4 update yet? That update includes new video drivers, which may help. The maximum resolution shouldn't be different for the Mac version of a PC game.
     
  3. vasaz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    MN
    #3
    I'm pretty sure that 800x600 is the max resolution of D2, I was looking at the blizzard website a few days ago and noticed that (for both PC and mac). And that resolution wasn't even supported until the expansion pack.
     
  4. tayzer2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Location:
    Coldwater, MI
    #4
    A ha! That sounds familiar...1024x768 in LOD. Welp, looks like I need to find my LOD disk. Now where did I put that thing? :eek:

    Alright...thanks for the replies and that all makes sense now. :rolleyes:

    Cheers!
     
  5. Hydra macrumors regular

    Hydra

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    800x600 is the max resolution in D2, it was introduced in LoD. Original D2 had just 640x480...
    Damn Diablo 3 would be more than welcome.
     

Share This Page