Dial into Windows computer

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Nermal, Nov 30, 2005.

  1. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    OK, let's say I have a Windows system with "Incoming Connections" (previously called Dial-Up Server, IIRC) enabled. This allows other users to dial into the system via modem and create a simple network.

    How can I dial into this sort of system using a Mac? The only "dialler" app I can find is Internet Connect, which only appears to work for Internet connections.

    Hopefully you all know what I'm talking about :)

    Thanks
     
  2. Brother Michael macrumors 6502a

    Brother Michael

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    #2
    I want to say remotedesktop client but, something tells me that isn't going to work for dial-up.

    What's the little open-source app that allows for remote desktop connections with ssh??

    EDIT: VNC!!

    Anyways, will that work?
     
  3. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    As far as I know, VNC is just a remote-control tool, and requires you to already be networked with the system you want to control. That's not what I'm trying to accomplish - I want to be able to dial into a system and essentially create a 2-computer network.
     
  4. Brother Michael macrumors 6502a

    Brother Michael

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    #4
    I understand what you are trying to do, connect using dial-up.

    I just didn't know if VNC did that or not.

    To sum up, got me, sorry Nermal

    Can we still be friends? :eek: :p
     
  5. tag macrumors 6502a

    tag

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    PA, US
    #5
    Alright I think I may have an answer here.. I found this snippet about direct peer-to-peer dialing via modem.. http://www.macwindows.com/peertips.html#directmodem
    It talks about using ClarisWorks and also ZTerm to make the connection.

    I downloaded ZTerm and found it has dialing options which seem like it would work for what you are looking for (hopefully).
    Can find ZTerm here ... http://homepage.mac.com/dalverson/zterm/

    Using either program you should be able to make a connection between directly by plugging in the modem cable between two computers directly, though I assume you want to remotely dialup (via a telephone # and not a direct modem-to-modem connection) and ZTerm seems to look like something that can do that, though I don't have a way to test it myself.
     
  6. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    ZTerm looks tricky! :eek:

    Fortunately this is all theoretical at this stage, just evaluating options. It might be better to use a Windows-based client system :(
     
  7. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #7
    Why won't Internet Connect work? The connection to the Windows dial-in computer is a PPP connection using TCP/IP or IPX. Then, it's just a matter of routing IP or IPX packets. Do you know if the Windows computer is IP or IPX?
     
  8. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    Well in that case, it might work after all :)

    But... it doesn't matter now. I can't be bothered to tell the whole story, so I'll just say that a third party was involved, and the system is no longer necessary.
     

Share This Page