Dial-up modem that works with WinXP & Mac OSX?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by DISCOMUNICATION, Jun 4, 2006.

  1. DISCOMUNICATION macrumors 6502a

    DISCOMUNICATION

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA USA
    #1
    My iMac is scheduled to arrive on saturday, but I have no means of getting online. My ISP is dail-up. What are my options for modems that will work with both OS's? The official Apple usb modem is not supported with the boot-camp drivers. And yet the Airport Base station is. Can I use the Dial-up modem built into the base station? Apple doesn't really go into detail about using it with a dail-up account. They just advertise that you can dail into your home network when you are away from home. I could always get 2 usb modems one for X one for XP, but that is rediculous. Little help? :confused:

    No means of getting online... right... ah... the Airport picked up someone elses wireless network without even asking me. I thought Safari came with a preloaded page. :rolleyes: Silly me. I'm not going to use it, but what are the ethics of WiFi? I actually see 2 networks. One is password protected the other is not.
    Oh, I've had my iMac out of the box for about 2 hours now and I love it, but I'm hesitant to get rid of the Winbloze box. Is bootcamp really reliable?
     
  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Put it this way my macbook pics up someone elses network and it isnt password protected, if I wanted I can hop onto that network. I told my neighbour I could see his network and he said at times he can see mine.

    We dont jump onto each others but we could, and we live a good distance away from each other out in the countryside, not like apartments etc... My macbook is the only computer than seems to reach to his connection, all our other 5 macs dont...

    So I'd say yes you could jump onto that unprotected connection. The chances are as long as you dont have windows sharing enabled (in sharing) or appletalk (in network pref) you could use the connection and the person would never know you were there.

    Whether that's moral is a different question and one only you can answer. But you could just say 'connect' and see if it works and if it doesnt - fair enough, if it does - you could always go and ask your neighbour and offer them a little somthing towards it if they minded...

    It's up to you.
     
  3. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
  4. DISCOMUNICATION thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DISCOMUNICATION

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA USA
    #4
    Went with an Airport Extreme Base Station

    Just got my airport extreme base station in the mail. I'm using the dail-up modem that's built into the base station. Probably won't try bootcamp till this weekend. It should work with the this. There is nothing in the manual to suggest it wouldn't work with a Windows computer. I can see 4 wireless networks under the airport tab including my own.
    Now what other WiFi devices could I get to share the network? Not spending more money on another computer. A Nintendo DS... or Wii. I could try my PSTwo's through the ethernet port. I don't think I have any online games though. Mostly RPGs and fighting games. Oh well... I'll report back this weekend on using bootcamp with the base station's dail-up modem.
     
  5. DISCOMUNICATION thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DISCOMUNICATION

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA USA
    #5
    It works

    So I successfully installed bootcamp. My problem was the usb dial-up modem wasn't going to work with bootcamp. So I bought an Airport Extreme Base Station. It works... kinda... You can't dail in from Windows. You need to dail in from OSX then boot into windows and join the network. Same goes for disconnecting the modem. Bootcamp runs well, but I think I'll keep my PC until it's no longer a beta. I can't upgrade from Home to Pro.
     

Share This Page