Dictionary

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jamescwarren, Apr 7, 2006.

  1. jamescwarren macrumors 6502

    jamescwarren

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    #1
    This is a really stupid question but I have heard that if you press a few keys and hover the pointer over a word in Mac OS X, you can kind of get a hovering like definition. What is the keyboard combination? Thanks.
     
  2. .:*Robot Boy*:. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Command + Ctrl + D

    As I understand it, it only works in Cocoa-based applications, but that may just be hearsay on my part.
     
  3. jamescwarren thread starter macrumors 6502

    jamescwarren

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Location:
    Isle of Man
  4. Glenn Wolsey macrumors 65816

    Glenn Wolsey

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    This has got to be one of my favorite things about Tiger :)
     
  5. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #5
    Any support for foreign languages?
    I think this would be pretty sweet if I could do the cmd+ctrl+d and get definitions for French words that I don't know. If I change my settings to French in sys prefs, any idea if this might work?
     
  6. IanF0729 macrumors regular

    IanF0729

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland; Washington, D.C.
    #6
    I just found my new favorite feature.

    Thanks! :D
     
  7. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #7
    I don't think so - since the only installed Dictionary is the US English one. It seems to list the UK spellings so still picks up on things but I don't think it will work with other languages unless you could find a dictionary in the same format to point Dictionary.app towards.
     
  8. discoforce macrumors 6502a

    discoforce

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    #8
    Oh that is SO cool, I'm gotta go tell everyone in my office that's been grumbling about having to upgrade to Tiger! :D
     
  9. timmac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Location:
    Hattiesburg, MS
    #9
    Also, if you look in Dictionary's preferences, you will see an option to get a "mini-panel" or the whole dictionary display. Personally, I prefer the mini-panel.
     
  10. Lacnce macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    #10
    Thats cool.
    I also changed the shortcut to F7.
    Much faster.
     

Share This Page