Did anyone notice the signal strength indicators?

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by iBreatheApple, Jun 10, 2013.

  1. macrumors 68020

    iBreatheApple

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    I just noticed they are only dots now, I think I like this better.


    [​IMG]
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #2
    That is the carrier.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68020

    iBreatheApple

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    Well that's embarrassing.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    iOS 6 below for reference. Apple have always left the carrier out of promotional shots.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #5
    Honestly I can't really tell.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    No, it's the signal strength.

    Apple have managed to totally remove the carrier from OS and the device, apart from delving within the settings. Unimaginable 5+ years ago.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68020

    iBreatheApple

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    Hmmm... so I'm not stupid?

    Well the carrier name never shows when on Wifi so that's still up for debate. Or have you seen a demo with wifi turned off...?
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #8
    From what I understand, the iOS will no longer show the carrier up there.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #9
    That probably is the signal strength. They probably didn't put a carrier.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    #10
    I don't like it at all tbh. Like why dots? they should've kept the regular signal indicator and made it transparent but oh well.:p
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    #11
    Your carrier will likely still be displayed when you're not on wifi just like it currently is. Apple just won't show it in their promotional material.
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    #12
    If you look back at the iOS6 screenshot there was no carrier thee either... I bet carriers will still appear top left by the dots for me
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    kmj2318

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    #13
    I was wondering about this. Hopefully they don't. it would take up too much space.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 68020

    iBreatheApple

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #14
    Will be easier to read at a glance IMO. There are certain times (color of the screen + certain lighting, etc.) when it takes a second to focus on if you have two, three, or four bars. Not that you'll ever be desperate to know in an instant... just makes it easier.
     
  15. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #15
    Check again. Currently connected to wifi and have my carrier ('3') between radio signal and wifi signal.
     
  16. iBreatheApple, Jun 10, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 68020

    iBreatheApple

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #16
    Probably because it's so short. I'm on AT&T and it does not show.

    Edit.
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    Collinsville,IL
    #17
    I am on Sprint and it shows between cell radio and wifi bars... Every iPhone I have seen does this.
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    #18
    They could of done with chaning the wifi bars to those dots, as the wifi bar never really proves be that accurate at all.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors 68020

    iBreatheApple

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #19
    I don't know why I was so certain that it doesn't. I'm at home and it IS showing AT&T while on wifi. I swear I've seen it not show before. :confused:
     
  20. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    #20
    airplane mode with wifi on?
     
  21. macrumors 65816

    Nikos

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #21
    Looks a lot better now.
     
  22. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    #22
    The dots are really dumb and take up more space than the bars
     
  23. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    Collinsville,IL
    #23
    I've seen it go away when I don't have signal. Then again, that is pretty common with Sprint.
     
  24. macrumors 604

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #24
    well this is dumb i thought we finally got rid of the carrier logo, my carrier "t-mobile.de" is so long that the spinning wheel always jumps to the right side. redic
     
  25. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #25
    It is still there.
     

Share This Page