Did Apple Pull 6.0 Update?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by TBONE72, Sep 21, 2013.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #1
    I have a 720p Apple TV and when I go to update it, it says the it is up to date at the 5.3 version. Did Apple pull the update because of all the problems?
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    I was wondering the same thing. I have a ATV 3 and my system says I am up do date with the 5.3 version.

    Itunes radio on my other devices is working nicely and I wanted to see how it sounds on my stereo system.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    #3
    I'm getting the same here.

    3rd Gen ATV & when I go to Update in system settings, says that 5.3 is the latest version.

    Went straight too it after seeing the forum post of 6.0 being released.

    Have other people been able to successfully download 6.0 in the last day or so?

    I'm in Australia if that changes anything. Maybe they've pulled back on international release?
     
  4. macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #4
    I upgraded an Apple TV 3rd generation about 6-8 hours ago without issues.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    #5
    So that would suggest that they have indeed pulled the update?

    Strange, never seen this happen before. Maybe iOS 7 (and now 7.0.1 - that was fast patch huh?) have really strained their servers & they can't deliver 6.0 reliably.

    Could explain why a number of other forum users have reported their ATV's going into recovery mode after update.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    I am experiencing the same thing
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    I found the same thing. No update for me. Kind if glad considering how many posts there are about 6.0 bricking the device.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    #8
    If they did pull it, it must have been within the last 18-24 hours. I update yesterday around this time.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    forza69

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #9
    Glad I'm not the only one. Tried updating my ATV 3 too and it said it was up to date on 5.3. Strange. Hope it gets sorted soon.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    #10
    I updated yesterday. Today I'm noticing that the video quality of my AirPlay streams from my Mac to my ATV2 is terrible. (It's OK from iTunes, but terrible on videos played from Safari or QuickTime Player.)

    Maybe they decided the update wasn't ready for prime time.
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    megfilmworks

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks
    #11
    The update on my ATV3 created a need to restore after the install.
    Now coming home after work,
    ATV has crashed and needed to be rebooted.
    I think this release has some issues.
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #12
    Most likely the number of support requests due to the update bricking devices was so high they had no choice. However this is nothing new. Maybe they are going to finally do something about it this time. I don't think any of the issues with the software itself are bad enough to force then to pull it.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    My two ATV 3 updated 100% yesterday with no problems.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #14
    I just went to update mine tonight and it's not showing up also.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    #15
    I have 3 ATV and only 1 updated so I clld apple n was told that they pulled update and to try again Sunday by Apples tech support

    ----------


    Yes it did brick one of my ATV but 1 did go thru. Tech support said they pulled it.
    And another thing you need a micro USB to unbrick it. (Which apple don't supply) luckily I had one or I'd been SOL on 1 of mines.
     
  16. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #16
    It's been pulled in the UK....I updated the lounge ATV3, and although it took forever, it went through okay, and the unit is operating as it should. Made a coffee and went in to do the bedroom unit but got the "Software Up To date" message....Reading the article on the front page it looks like some folks are winding up with bricks. -one Cupertino guy.:)
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    steve-p

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    #17
    There are always casualties with ATV updates, but this one seemed much worse than usual if anecdotal evidence here on MR is anything to go by. I'm just relieved mine updated OK.
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #18
    I updated all three ATV's yesterday morning with zero issues at all. I will say that it was slow though. I live in Toronto ON, so there is no new itunes radio.

    I'm a little disappointed that no changes were done with the UI. I was hoping for it in a big way. I was a little glossy eyed I guess with ios7 :)
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    JohnLT13

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Location:
    Boston (aka Red Sox Nation)
    #19
    I updated 2 ATVs in my home. One updated with no problems, the other stalled and needed a reboot (unplugged it) to get going again but it did not update. iTunes radio is a huge disappointment. Sound quality is horrible. A new UI would have been nice but IMO thats just eye candy.
     
  20. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    #20
    Glad it's not just me- mine attempted downloading this morning- took forever and error messaged just before it finished, then when I went to Software Update in the settings it said I was running the most up to date version even though it was on 5.3 or whatever it was.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    CrickettGrrrl

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Location:
    B'more or Less
    #21
    I updated an :apple:TV2 yesterday morning. It frustratingly stopped halfway through but then I checked all the iMacs and there was another iTunes update I had to download first which took a long while, after that the :apple:TV finished updating, slowly. US east coast if it matters. It was odd because I was reasonably sure that iTunes was updated already the day before. Oh well.

    iTunes Radio is working as it should on everything, it's terrific.
     
  22. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Phoenx, AZ
    #22
    I updated my ATV 2 when it became available, and it went into recovery mode and I had to hook to iTunes to update. now my ATV 3 when checking says 5.3 is latest. I think I will connect it to iTunes and see what happens.
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #23
  24. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Phoenx, AZ
    #24
    when I connected my ATV 3 to iTunes it didn't recognize it at all, even though its the same cable (kindle cable) i used to update my ATV 2, however I decided to try plugging in the power cord and it showed up in iTunes right away. I didn't need to use power cord when updating the ATV 2.

    It did update to 6.0
     
  25. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Location:
    Stafford, UK
    #25
    On 5.3 here as well and update is reporting I'm on the latest version
     

Share This Page